We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Pines Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Acadia Pines Motel to your Saves list
Acadia Pines Motel
389 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Amelia Island, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I just spent a night at this motel. The innkeeper Karen was very nice and helpful. We were able to get a room for 1 night at the last minute,..which was great. The room was fine and the motel complex was pleasant with the trees. The proximity to the road (noise) really wasn't bad. We had a nice stay and would return. I recommend this motel. Mt Desert Island and Acadia NP are beautiful, although the town of Bar Harbor is a zoo in August.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
56
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Friendly helpful staff; clean room; comfy bed; right next to the campground where the local (& free!) bus stops every half hour. A good, clean, comfy place to shower & crash after a long day of go go go. Perfect for our style of vacationing. If you are the type who likes to spend half your vacation lounging around your accommodations you might want to keep looking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for five days ofnour vacation. It was the perfect place to stay to get anywhere we wanted to go. The staff was very helpful and flexible as we took full advantage of sleeping in on our vacation...especially after a 5am sunrise on Cadillac mountain and a sleep in until 2 pm...we also enjoyed being able to go out on a day hike and to return and relax in the pool....this was a great place to stay...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This trip was our second stay at Acadia Pines and just as happy this time as last!!! Acadia Pines is a great, clean motel on the outskirts of Bar Harbor, but still on Mt. Desert Island.
The rooms are not very big, but these are rooms to sleep in, not to spend days in. There is also a in-ground pool on site (my 5-yr old neice learned to swim while we were there).
Just across the road is a fantastic mini-putt golf course, and close-by are a couple of BBQ restaurants. Both restaurants serve breakfast and are within walking distance.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I chose this hotel for a week-long family vaca in Acadia based on tripadvisor reviews. Here are the pros and cons:
Pros: very clean, grounds nicely maintained, nice heated pool, friendly staff
Cons: close to busy road (traffic noise), hard beds and flat pillows, outdated furniture (though clean and not worn), not enough storage for clothes (no closet, small drawers), walls are thin (luckily neighbors weren't loud)
Don't think I'd stay here again as there are tons of other options in Bar Harbor. Not a bad motel, though.

Room Tip: Rooms all equally close to road. Recommend a kitchenette if there's even a small chance you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersburg, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We recently stayed at Acadia Pines with our 2 teens and my parents. The kids had small room in our room with 2 twin beds and a TV to themselves. They loved that part! Motel staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat and visit. We also loved the putt putt golf course that is almost directly across the road. We will definately recommend this place to our friends and will stay here the next time we visit Maine. We also loved the chairs outside our room for visiting in the evenings.

The Beck Family

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband and i stayed last week in June 2011, just returned home. Room was very clean, we had the kitchenette which in my mind was quite roomy. they even furnished dishes/silverware glasses etc. While not fancy (personally I stay in those types on business trips, trust me they are overrated) the hotel is very well maintained, and quite charming. When we reported that we broke two of the glasses they graciously replaced them refusing our offer to pay. Requests for extra towels/pillows were handled quickly also. While other posters remarked on the road noise we were not disturbed by it at any time. The staff was gracious and very friendly, and helped us find points of interest. They also have picnic tables under the pines, where we enjoyed one meal after hiking Cadillac Mtn. We will definitely return to this motel!

Room Tip: Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acadia Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Pines Motel

Address: 389 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 6 acres of lawn and trees, just 2 miles before the Hulls CoveVisitor's Center for Acadia National Park, our family owned and operated motel offers 22 clean, affordable,comfortable rooms. Our guests say the eclectic decor gives our rooms a nice homey feel. A place to just relax and enjoy being in Maine. The rooms vary in size from the economy queen unit to a spacious king kitchen. For families we offer the roomy 2 queen bed units with or without a kitchen to the spacious two room kitchen unit. They feature one king, 1 or 2 queen beds and two room units with 1 king and 2 twins, 5 kitchenettes, all rooms have a refrigerator,hair dryer and in-room-coffee, king rooms include a mirowave. The 48 foot ,outdoor pool is open and heated from late June to Labor Day. There are picnic tables, lawn chairs and a gazebo for guest use. There is a woodland path to the property next door to our right which features a restaurant, ice cream shop and general store. Across the street is Pirates Cove Adventure Golf, a 2nd restaurant and gift shop. The Island Explorer Shuttle bus has a scheduled stop right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Acadia Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Pines Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Pines Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.