We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thornhedge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thornhedge Inn to your Saves list
Thornhedge Inn
47 Mt. Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Montreal Quebec
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Because our reservations had been "lost" at another B&B, we stayed at the Thornhedge August 15, 2009. After a long day's drive we arrived at the Inn late afternoon, tired, hot and very much in need of a nice cool drink. When we asked where we could find the ice machine we were told "down the block at the filling station." The interior of the Inn needs updating. At the present time it conveys an impression of a museum and not of a B &B. The room was quite clean but quite hot. Even though our room was "guaranteed" and paid for in advance, the AC had not been turned on in order that our room be comfortable for our arrival. The bed linens, though adequate, had been in service for a long time. There was no hairdryer nor shampoo. The pillows were "flat" and "used". The floor was carpeted with pink shag carpeting. The tv was old and the choice of channels quite limited. Although the interior of the inn was well-kept the grounds were not. The gravel parking lot had debris scattered about and there were old tires propped up against the building. The plants in the planters were dead and the hedges were filled with weeds. The Inn is located in a central location within an easy walk of the shops and restos of Bar Harbor. The noise outside our room continued into the wee hours of the morning. If one keeps the AC on high, you can combat this. The room (with a 10% exchange rate) and a $10 discount from the owner, cost $158.00 Canadian. We did not partake of the continental breakfast, so we cannot give our opinion on this subject. There are many, many B&B's located in the vicinity which are much less expensive with more agreeable accoutrements.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

As we rode into Bar Harbor down Mount Desert St it was hard not to see the big Yellow B&B sitting by the side of the road. We were warmly greeted by Susan, one of the great people that worked there. It’s hard to say “worked” because the staff seemed to put there heart in all they did for us, from their warm welcome to quickly given us our room, to making sure we knew where best places to eat and visit were. The home was decorated in an old Victorian style with plenty of seating areas on the first floor. Our room was large and comfortable with a King bed (my wife and I both stand over 6 foot) with a full private bath across the hall. The full breakfast in the morning was served in the main dining room and was very good and gave us a chance to plan our days ride to the local attractions or take a leisurely walk into and around the old town or across to Bar Island, pending the tide. There was a large front porch to sit on at night and talk over the great day we had or in the afternoon we could sit and have some cheese and wine and watch the locals walk by or enjoy the scenery. As we left our home away from home the staff was on the front porch waving goodbye and hoping we come back again, and we will, soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

My girlfriend and I were looking to visit Bar Harbor over the 4th of July weekend, 2008 and started researching B&B's only about one month in advance. We had never stayed in Bar Harbor, and many places were already sold-out or only had more expensive rooms remaining at the time. I came across the Thornhedge via web searches and learned that they had a room available that was moderately priced (Fairview) and reviews on Tripadvisor were promising so we made a reservation. Well, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised! The house is very nice and our room on the 3rd floor was very private and comfortable. We spent much of our trip either in Acadia or downtown Bar Harbor, but in between those times the large porch of the house and the common rooms were nice for relaxing. The innkeeper, Andrew, was raised in the home which had been run in the past by his grandmother, and he is very passionate about keeping up the traditions of the house. He is very knowledgeable of the area, and gave us some excellent recommendations for both biking/hiking in the park as well as dining options in Bar Harbor (Mama DiMatteo's: excellent Italian!). Breakfasts were very simple consisting of fresh baked goods, juice and coffee and were substantial for what we were looking for, but others may require more. In the early evenings live music, wine & cheese were served on the patio which was perfect before a short walk into town for dinner. We loved our stay here and would definitely stay again, but will probably try another place just to spice things up. Thanks Andrew and Thornhedge - we will not forget that trip!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We came here after a terrible experience at a bed and breakfast down the road. Andrew, the innkeeper, set us up with comfortable accomodations for our last two nights in town, despite being a walk in looking for a room that night and the next. Thornhedge is very spacious and relaxing with good size rooms that are kept clean. They serve a good continental breakfast, then wine and cheese in the early evening on the porch. They are knowledgeable about the happenings around town and the sights in Acadia National Park. Best of all, the innkeepers are easy to get along with, have a good sense of humor, and are laid back.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

We came across the Thornhedge Inn by coincidence and got a room in the basement. Large room, flowery decor, bookshelves and a fire place. Was a little like in a fairy tale. That room didn't have an airconditioning, but it was cool though as it was in the cellar. Large brass beds - it was cozy, probably not for a longer stay. The inn has different rooms. The whole building is about 100 years old and the landlord is a young guy who took the inn over from his grandma. Breakfast is with the guests present at a big table. The landloard bakes fresh cake (fruity) every morning and this breakfast is included in the price. It's a nice atmosphere, very relaxed and the specialty is, that every afternoon at 5, you can come out on the porch and enjoy white wine and cheese with the landlord, the other guests and grandma!
The location is perfect. Downtown - if sth like this exists in Bar Harbor - is within walking distance.
Bar Harbor is quiet at night, not a bar open after 9 p.m. - so byo! It's nice to sit on the porch with your own bottle of wine later in the evening.
Acadia Ntl Park is a 10 minute drive from the Inn.
If ever again in Bar Harbor I would return to the Thornhedge Inn.
See my photos!

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Breakfast choice (it's cake & cereals only)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xrblessed
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

The location was great. We could walk to almost everything. The people that were staying there were older but it was nice to hear where we should go to check out things.

Make sure you book the Stanwood, private balcony.

The cheese & wine was nice every night @ 5, alot of people talking all at once. It was hard to hear your own conversation.

The mattress on the bed was great, the best night sleep we got while on vacation. The Contiental Breakfast was good, Andrew did a good job. I could have ate all of the Walnut Bread but there were other guest. The Blueberry muffins were great also.

Received a great internet rate of 136 a night from Bobby but when we checked out it was 170 a night, I should of said something.

  • Liked — The food, location, Private Balcony, the bed, hearing others experiences
  • Disliked — The smoking on the porch
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

This Inn is decent. Beggers can't be choosers at close to the last minute on a long weekend. This was the cheapest room I could find 2 weeks before our stay.
We stayed on the top floor and had a strange bathroom set up. It was in the roof line and my boyfriend could only stand up straight in the doorway and in the shower. The bed was not comfortable, I would rate it as one you would find in a cheap super 8 motel.
On the upside, the main downstairs is very large and inviting. The continental breakfast was adequate. Elenor, the owner, is a hoot.

  • Liked — Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornhedge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhedge Inn

Address: 47 Mt. Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thornhedge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhedge Hotel Bar Harbor
Thornhedge Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornhedge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.