We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Save
You added Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B to your Saves list
121 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The owners were great, and knowledgeable about the area, and restaurants to visit in town which all proved excellent. The location was far enough away from town to not be caught up in all the cruise ship passengers, but close enough to walk for a bite to eat yet minutes from Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
307
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Saltair Inn for one night in the Chart room while passing through Bar Harbor. The Inn is beautiful and has an amazing view of the water. Our room was comfortable and spacious, the breakfast was delicious, and the service was wonderful. Kristi and Matt were very friendly and eager to help you plan your day exploring Acadia. Matt convinced us to do a much more strenuous hike than we had intended to do, and it ended up being the highlight of the trip. The iron rungs drilled into the granite sounds tough, but it was the perfect recommendation. We tell everyone in Michigan about our amazing trip to Acadia and we cannot wait to come back to the Saltair next summer. We would definitely recommend the B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We just returned from our third year staying at The Saltair Inn, and we will be going back next September. We love it. The innkeepers, Kristi and Matt, are simply the best. They have created an amazing B&B. We love the rooms, the delicious breakfasts, the afternoon snacks, and the amazing views of the Bay. Our favorite activity is to sit in their backyard and watch the sunset after a day hiking in Acadia National Park. But we keep coming back each year because of the relaxed, warm and friendly feeling created by Matt and Kristi. Over the past ten years, we have stayed numerous other inns, hotels and B&Bs in Coastal Maine and Canada, and The Saltair Inn is hands down our favorite. We recommend this B&B to everyone.

Room Tip: We recommend the rooms overlooking the Bay -- the Master Suite, the Acadia Suite and the Harbor Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a great stay at the Saltair Inn in Bar Harbor. We stayed two nights in the Sedgewick room. The room was clean, cozy, and had a brand new private bathroom. Kristi and Matt were great hosts and we enjoyed the breakfasts and homemade cookies left on the dining room table in the late afternoons. You cant beat the location - right on the water and steps from Main Street. Also just a short drive to Arcadia National Park. Definitely recommend staying here when visiting Bar Harbor. Don't think you could find anything better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in the Sedgewick room. It was clean, cozy, and well decorated. We were greeted by Kristi and immediately felt welcome as she gave us a tour of the inn. Matt was an invaluable source of information on Acadia NP as well as the local restaurants and activities. They are sincere and gracious hosts. The breakfasts were excellent and varied...they should write a cookbook. They are located within walking distance of everything in Bar Harbor. We will recommend this B & B to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Matt and Kristi are wonderful innkeepers. Service was fantastic; breakfast was wonderful - thoughtfully prepared. I'm vegan and Kristi made wonderful fruit salads with spinach and asparagus (see picture). Typically, fresh cookies or brownies on the table in the late afternoon. The inn is being well maintained. We stayed in the Harbor Suite - well furnished, open, very comfortable bed. We didn't want a.c.,using the ceiling fan we found it only had one speed.

Matt and Kristi are a wealth of local knowledge. Ask and you will get the details of where and what and when. We went sea kayaking and biking (Bar Harbor Bikes is the BEST!!) in Acadia N.P on Carriage Roads. Great times. Last day Matt shared a Park pass with us (we returned since it still had 2 more days). Great views around the Park Loop.
Easy walk to anywhere in Bar Harbor.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, CT
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently stayed at Saltair for our 1st visit and it was a bustling weekend in Aug. but you'd never know it from inside the Inn. It was a cool oasis once we stepped inside & especially in the backyard where you could unwind in Adirondack chairs with your own private view of the sea. Matt greeted us and within 10 minutes we felt as if he was our neighbor back home. We stayed in the Sedgwick room and it suited us fine. The bed was very comfortable & the newly remodeled bathroom was perfect. Our room faced the street, but as it was in the mid-80's, we had either the a/c or the fan running so we weren't disturbed by street noise or foot traffic. We felt that it was a huge plus that we could leave the car & within 5 minutes, we could walk down to the harbor area. Plus, if you find yourself hiking some of the trails that Matt suggests (at my husband's prompting), you'll find you won't have any trouble sleeping! Matt and Kristi are some of the most laid back & knowledgeable innkeepers we've met. We've had plenty of B&B stays in 20 years of traveling and they have the perfect balance of being thoughtful innkeepers & keeping it normal. They seemed to know what to offer as suggestions and/or recommendations (tailored to your interests) whether it was for activities, trails or restaurants and it was a great help to us as it had been 7 years since our last visit. I was worried that because Saltair is rated so highly on trip advisor that it might be "fou fou," but luckily it's the opposite. I could point out all of the the little things we loved (baked treats always present on the dining table; packaged snacks you can grab & go; personalized hiking & restaurants recommendations), but it's easier just to say we loved the overall vibe and encountered all kinds of interesting and nice people during our weekend stay. Kristi's quiche was delicious and even with 8-10 people dining around the same time, she offered & made a separate egg dish for another guest. Since Saltair was booked for the rest of our visit, we had to book another B&B for the remainder of our stay. Our other B&B was fine, but we missed Matt's & Kristi's conversation and their suggestions (and playing with Juneau outside). We look forward to a return visit (we'll just book farther in advance).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#14 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

Address: 121 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three blocks from the center of town, the Saltair Inn offers luxurious waterfront suites appointed with king-size beds, elegant private baths, multiple gas fireplaces, TV, and private sitting rooms overlooking the Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltair Inn Waterfront Bed And Breakfast
Saltair Inn Waterfront Hotel Bar Harbor
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.