We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Save
You added Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B to your Saves list
121 West St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The owners were great, and knowledgeable about the area, and restaurants to visit in town which all proved excellent. The location was far enough away from town to not be caught up in all the cruise ship passengers, but close enough to walk for a bite to eat yet minutes from Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
279
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Saltair Inn for one night in the Chart room while passing through Bar Harbor. The Inn is beautiful and has an amazing view of the water. Our room was comfortable and spacious, the breakfast was delicious, and the service was wonderful. Kristi and Matt were very friendly and eager to help you plan your day exploring Acadia. Matt convinced us to do a much more strenuous hike than we had intended to do, and it ended up being the highlight of the trip. The iron rungs drilled into the granite sounds tough, but it was the perfect recommendation. We tell everyone in Michigan about our amazing trip to Acadia and we cannot wait to come back to the Saltair next summer. We would definitely recommend the B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Yes, the location is that great. Their backyard is the prime location in Bar Harbor for viewing Frenchmen's Bay. We stayed in the Sedgewick room which was a very nice room. If you want to enjoy the beautiful views of the Bay from the privacy/comfort of your own room, I would definitely recommend the suites. Not being familiar with Bar Harbor or this B&B, I thought the suites were a bit pricey when I was making our reservation but knowing what I know now, I would have went with one of the suites with the view of the Bay. To wake up to that view every morning would have been a highlight of our trip and well worth the money, in my opinion. Oh well, maybe next time.

Yes, the food is that great. By far, the best breakfasts we had during out stay in Maine (we stayed at three B&Bs). The chocolate chip cookies that Kristi set out one afternoon were the best I have ever had. The cookie I had the next day from Mrs. Field's PALED in comparison. Definitely Kristi could start a cookie business, if she were so inclined.

Yes, the hosts are that great. Matt and Kristi were polite, professional, and very knowledgeable of the area. If you just want to eat your breakfast and get out the door, they are okay with that. If you need help planning your day, they have lots of suggestions (that you won't find in the travel books). They definitely know their stuff and they definitely know how to run and B&B.

I would HIGHLY recommend this B&B. Definitely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We just returned from our third year staying at The Saltair Inn, and we will be going back next September. We love it. The innkeepers, Kristi and Matt, are simply the best. They have created an amazing B&B. We love the rooms, the delicious breakfasts, the afternoon snacks, and the amazing views of the Bay. Our favorite activity is to sit in their backyard and watch the sunset after a day hiking in Acadia National Park. But we keep coming back each year because of the relaxed, warm and friendly feeling created by Matt and Kristi. Over the past ten years, we have stayed numerous other inns, hotels and B&Bs in Coastal Maine and Canada, and The Saltair Inn is hands down our favorite. We recommend this B&B to everyone.

Room Tip: We recommend the rooms overlooking the Bay -- the Master Suite, the Acadia Suite and the Harbor Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a great stay at the Saltair Inn in Bar Harbor. We stayed two nights in the Sedgewick room. The room was clean, cozy, and had a brand new private bathroom. Kristi and Matt were great hosts and we enjoyed the breakfasts and homemade cookies left on the dining room table in the late afternoons. You cant beat the location - right on the water and steps from Main Street. Also just a short drive to Arcadia National Park. Definitely recommend staying here when visiting Bar Harbor. Don't think you could find anything better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in the Sedgewick room. It was clean, cozy, and well decorated. We were greeted by Kristi and immediately felt welcome as she gave us a tour of the inn. Matt was an invaluable source of information on Acadia NP as well as the local restaurants and activities. They are sincere and gracious hosts. The breakfasts were excellent and varied...they should write a cookbook. They are located within walking distance of everything in Bar Harbor. We will recommend this B & B to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Matt and Kristi are wonderful innkeepers. Service was fantastic; breakfast was wonderful - thoughtfully prepared. I'm vegan and Kristi made wonderful fruit salads with spinach and asparagus (see picture). Typically, fresh cookies or brownies on the table in the late afternoon. The inn is being well maintained. We stayed in the Harbor Suite - well furnished, open, very comfortable bed. We didn't want a.c.,using the ceiling fan we found it only had one speed.

Matt and Kristi are a wealth of local knowledge. Ask and you will get the details of where and what and when. We went sea kayaking and biking (Bar Harbor Bikes is the BEST!!) in Acadia N.P on Carriage Roads. Great times. Last day Matt shared a Park pass with us (we returned since it still had 2 more days). Great views around the Park Loop.
Easy walk to anywhere in Bar Harbor.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

Address: 121 West St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three blocks from the center of town, the Saltair Inn offers luxurious waterfront suites appointed with king-size beds, elegant private baths, multiple gas fireplaces, TV, and private sitting rooms overlooking the Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltair Inn Waterfront Hotel Bar Harbor
Saltair Inn Waterfront Bed And Breakfast
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.