We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Plus!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Path Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shore Path Cottage to your Saves list
Shore Path Cottage
24 Atlantic Avenue, near Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Louisville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hospitality Plus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Roberta met my sister and I at the front door with a smile and made us feel right at home. Shore Path Cottage is a very unique property. The large porch and garden are right on the Atlantic so beautiful & peaceful & yet you are only a very short walk to the square. The rooms were comfortable & each had it's own personality. The breakfasts were delicious . Fresh fruit & homemade granola were available each am. Plus we were offered pancakes one am & eggs the next. I would highly recommend staying with Roberta and her daughters. I will go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    17
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Shore Path Cottage is an ideal get away in a beautiful setting. This large home once sheltered Roberta's large family and their presence is imbued in the interior design and comfortable look and feel of the inn. We loved the variety and quality of breakfast options including delicious veggie omelets and amazing gingered salmon. Afternoon wine and cake was an awesome treat after bicycling in Acadia Park. Roberta spent time visiting with her guests to ensure everyone was satisfied with their meals and experience overall. We are delighted to recommend Shore Path and consider Roberta to be one of the most caring innkeepers we've ever met.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We reserved a room at the Shore Path for a long weekend trip to Bar Harbor. The location was great, the home is beautiful, and the hostess is a very lovely woman. It just fell a little short for us. Part of the reason we booked Shore Path is that it boasted a healthy and hearty breakfast, but the first day we were there, very little was served and I'm not sure that what was tasted very organic (of course I could be wrong). This did improve by the second day, but you may want to check and make sure you're not one of two couples staying there or it could be an issue for you too. We stayed in Lisabeth's room, which I felt was a little overpriced for its size, the bed and the bathroom. The bed was not a king sized bed, but two twin beds pushed together. The bathroom was a small addition that was built into the room that only one person can fit into at a time. Maybe a single traveler would be comfortable, but it's definitely not a room for a couple. The other rooms looked very nice and perhaps like they had true king beds. Once snack time came, there was some stale pretzels and chips in a small bowl that were served with a bottle of wine (that hopefully hadn't been open for as long as the pretzels or chips). The bottom line for me was that the home was beautiful and the woman who runs it was very nice, but the bed, bathroom and food served were not what I expected based on the website description and the amount that we paid for the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Great innkeeper with Roberta and adult members of her family. The food was great with Roberts's homemade granola & fresh fruit every day along with varied main courses. Especially liked the long family style breakfast table. Great sitting rooms &porches. Walking to all town attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

What a peaceful, beautiful home! The porch by the bay with gentle ocean breeze and salt air was so relaxing. The breakfasts were delicious and healthy. The bed so very comfortable. And Roberta is an incredibly warm and welcoming innkeeper. The location is perfect....truly 5 minutes to Acadia and a few houses from downtown. We cannot wait to get back! Carol & Bob

Room Tip: Roberta's room is very large, and oh so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Freeport, Maine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The porch view of the bay, the location and proximity to Bar Harbor were great! Find your way to compass point and it's interesting rock beaches that are close by but offer a private/ remote setting well worth the short trip by, car, bike or 1 mile walk from the Inn.

We were offered a very nice room on the 1st night of our stay, large and comfortable enough for my wife and 15 year old niece who slept on a cot. Making our reservations late we were told we would need to move to another room. The 2nd room was much smaller.... with bath just out side. We found it strange that the very nice room we were happy with remained vacant the next two nights. I am uncertain why we had to move... Breakfast was good and accommodations were made each morning for our gluten free niece! Choose of room here is important. A couple I would not have liked at all and a couple were terrific.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hi Roberta, Thanks for the great time. We loved your hospitality and your smile. You have truly won us over and plan to come back to see you. Your house is so welcoming and always smelled wonderful. The breakfast and conversations with other guest is so nice. The view of the bay and your gardens is wonderful. Sitting outside in the evening visiting with others was great. Rooms were nice, large and clean. Short walk to town. Easy access to everything the Harbor has to offer. Thanks again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Path Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Path Cottage

Address: 24 Atlantic Avenue, near Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Shore Path Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Path Cottage Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Path Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.