We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER stay here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Breeze Motel to your Saves list
Sea Breeze Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   323 State Highway 3, Route 2, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NEVER stay here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a 2 nite stay and left after 5 minutes...horrible room with a not so secure door to the cellar!!!! Stained rugs, not even a plastic glass in the bathroom... Oh MY. we had stayed there a few years ago...the place should be shut down!! Believe all the reviews!!! And the hot tub is still broken as are all the rooms!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    12
    29
    66
See reviews for
47
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beautiful view, handy location. . . but that is the end of the good news. We chose the hotel because it was dog friendly and we were planning only 21/2 weeks out. We made the reservation for rooms in the main building for our dog, but were unable to confirm by phone that the rooms were dog friendly (in spite of 5 phone calls). We made other (expensive) arrangements for the dog, which was a good thing since we were told on arrival we did not have dog friendly rooms and that we were being moved to the "new" building. Room smelled like mold, water pressure was awful, LOUD air conditioner)we had no black out curtain for our east facing window (sunrise about 5:30 thanks) and no microwave. We were never able to reach the desk (not even to check out) much less buy a soda (machine was broken) or get a cot for the kid's room. Pool was a mess and my kids decided they didn't want to swim this vacation. Amazing potential, but being run into the ground. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just on the hot tub, which a previous reviewer wrote about: yes, things break and there may be a time lag before they're fixed. But 5 days went by w/ the broken hot tub during my stay, and the office staff clearly had been told that fixing it was no big deal. I asked about the status every day, and the response was never "we called the repair folks and we hope they'll come today", but instead "the owner is supposed to come by tomorrow, and he'll take a look." (The final explanation I was given before I left was that a guest had broken it. So...not their fault, no need to fix it?)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we stayed there August 15th 2013 check in is at 3:00 our room wasn't ready till 4:30..there was never anyone at the front desk,just a note that said they were busy and to call a number for service , which we did and got someone"s voice mail..hot tub broken..pool had broken tiles from the sides at the bottom of the pool( real safety hazard )...room was filthy, box spring was riped and torn, toilet seat was wornout..i could go on and on...worst place i have ever stayed..owners clearly don,t care...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We paid a rather large amount to stay at this motel. The positives are a good location and a large room. The negatives are as follows: the motel is incredibly outdated and needs full modernisation and renovation. The shower is old and barely had enough pressure to get the soap out of my hair. The hot tub is broken and scummy and the staff had the nerve to tell us a guest broke it the day before. No ice in the ice box. Cleaners came at 4:30 to clean room after we had arrived home for a day of excursions. The air con is old and noisy. The screen door on our sliding glass door was broken and off the track. Wifi is only in the reception office. The windows in the room are louvred and do not keep out noise. Carpet is old and stained. Staff is not very helpful. Basically nobody cares about this place and they must laugh at how much money they can get for a room in the busy season at Bar Harbor. I would not recommend it to my worst enemy!

Room Tip: Don't book this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Good sea views but everything else is a mess. The rooms are very dated (not updated since 1980s ?) and the mosquito gauze door in our room was broken and off the tracks, the hot tub in the grounds was broken, etc etc. Our room was not cleaned on day 2 of our stay, i heard guests complaining that the room that had been told to check in to had not been cleaned at 4.30pm etc. Awful, overpriced dump - avoid.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Good: Room was big, had hard wood floors, and the shower curtain looked new.

The Bad: Room needs a good cleaning, cob webs in corners, walls, ceiling, inside of bathroom door, tub all need to be scrubbed....After the cleaning a trip to Mardens with 50 bucks will buy everything this room needs, gallon of white paint, tube of silicon calk for around the tub/shower, toilet seat. Then hire a handy man to go at it for a day. One of the doors to the closet was missing, have him take off the other so it does not stick out like a sore thumb and looks like a shelving nook instead of a closet with a missing door.
I really did not care that the TV was old, I was not there to watch TV, it did what I needed, getting news and weather in the AM.

I wonder if the owners are on their way to retirement, and just letting the maintenance go and pocketing anything they make while they can. cause its just a shame as this could be a really nice place with some badly needed attention and re-investment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Motel

Address: 323 State Highway 3, Route 2, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Breeze Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sea Breeze Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Bar Harbor
Sea Breeze Bar Harbor
Sea Breeze Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.