We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Highbrook Motel to your Saves list
Highbrook Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
BAREFOOT BAY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Super place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I found the Highbrook Motel on the internet and the reviews were excellent so I booked it for 3 nights. My wife and I were extremely impressed. We have stayed in some motels before where you wish you never opened the door. This motel is immaculate. The property is well maintained, it is in a great location for Bar Harbor and Acadia, and it is very quiet. It has all the amenities you need including continental breakfast, Wi-Fi, a shuttle that has connections to all parts of the island, small refrigerator, and other items to make your stay more pleasant. The best thing is that it is run by a family who obviously takes pride in their establishment. The family and employees are very helpful, friendly, and have a genuine care in the quality of your stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    100
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
76
245
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Off the main downtown area but close enough with free bus service running in front of hotel regularly. Rooms were not modern but large with comfortable chairs and bed as well as refrigerator. Pick up breakfast was very adequate. Staff were helpful in arranging tours and friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

From the road the Highbrook Motel appears to be nothing particularly special, just another 60's style motor hotel, which it is. Difference is (and why this property receives so many excellent reviews) the motel is has an extremely high pride of ownership. First impression is "nice, but just a motel", but after looking around one notices how clean everything is, and then the little extras that seem to provide whatever needs one might hope for. The property is near downtown Bar Harbor, although it would be a long walk. The downtown shuttle passes the motel every 15 minutes, so this is not much of a problem. If on a budget or don't prefer to pay the price for an upscale option, this property might be your best choice.

Room Tip: Room in the elbow of the upper units had more space, as well as an extra small single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The owners seem to have anticipated all travel needs. Amenities include:
large, confortable room
free Wifi
2 luggage racks
plenty of outlets
grab bars in bathtub
simple, practical, breakfast
quiet location high above highway

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Highbrook was such a great place to stay on me and my wife's recent vacation to Bar Harbor. From the Midwest, we knew nothing of the region. The owners and front desk personnel were extremely helpful in pointing out attractions, local companies, restaurants, and tips to make things easier. I strongly believe our trip would not have been as amazing if we stayed somewhere else. The rooms were very clean and cozy and the motel itself was very close to the main downtown area. You could walk, drive, or take the local shuttles. Breakfast was good and the entire atmosphere was one of relaxation.

Overall, I give them 5 stars on every aspect of my stay and if we make it back to Maine, we will definitely be staying here again. -Brad

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a friendly and clean motel a few minutes drive from the center of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Our room was large and functional, and it was nice to have breakfast sitting in the morning sun in front of the room. Breakfast was grab & go, very efficient but maybe a bit wasteful in terms of trash produced: everything, even each hard-boiled egg, came in a little plastic box. So, I guess there is room for improving eco-friendliness, but overall it's a definite recommendation for a short visit to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Highbrook Motel. I believe it is the cleanest motel/hotel we have ever stayed at. I even saw them wiping down the top of the outside door and the door itself. We stayed in a room that was in the back building located on the hill. It was incredibly quiet. It was a great location only a few minutes away from downtown Bar Harbor and the entrance of Acadia National Park. A shuttle bus was available at the end of the driveway to take you to many locations. I would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Address: 94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbrook Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.