We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Motel to be Considered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Highbrook Motel to your Saves list
Highbrook Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Louisville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Retro Motel to be Considered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

From the road the Highbrook Motel appears to be nothing particularly special, just another 60's style motor hotel, which it is. Difference is (and why this property receives so many excellent reviews) the motel is has an extremely high pride of ownership. First impression is "nice, but just a motel", but after looking around one notices how clean everything is, and then the little extras that seem to provide whatever needs one might hope for. The property is near downtown Bar Harbor, although it would be a long walk. The downtown shuttle passes the motel every 15 minutes, so this is not much of a problem. If on a budget or don't prefer to pay the price for an upscale option, this property might be your best choice.

Room Tip: Room in the elbow of the upper units had more space, as well as an extra small single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    100
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
76
245
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The owners seem to have anticipated all travel needs. Amenities include:
large, confortable room
free Wifi
2 luggage racks
plenty of outlets
grab bars in bathtub
simple, practical, breakfast
quiet location high above highway

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Highbrook was such a great place to stay on me and my wife's recent vacation to Bar Harbor. From the Midwest, we knew nothing of the region. The owners and front desk personnel were extremely helpful in pointing out attractions, local companies, restaurants, and tips to make things easier. I strongly believe our trip would not have been as amazing if we stayed somewhere else. The rooms were very clean and cozy and the motel itself was very close to the main downtown area. You could walk, drive, or take the local shuttles. Breakfast was good and the entire atmosphere was one of relaxation.

Overall, I give them 5 stars on every aspect of my stay and if we make it back to Maine, we will definitely be staying here again. -Brad

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a friendly and clean motel a few minutes drive from the center of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Our room was large and functional, and it was nice to have breakfast sitting in the morning sun in front of the room. Breakfast was grab & go, very efficient but maybe a bit wasteful in terms of trash produced: everything, even each hard-boiled egg, came in a little plastic box. So, I guess there is room for improving eco-friendliness, but overall it's a definite recommendation for a short visit to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Highbrook Motel. I believe it is the cleanest motel/hotel we have ever stayed at. I even saw them wiping down the top of the outside door and the door itself. We stayed in a room that was in the back building located on the hill. It was incredibly quiet. It was a great location only a few minutes away from downtown Bar Harbor and the entrance of Acadia National Park. A shuttle bus was available at the end of the driveway to take you to many locations. I would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Who would have thought that an "old-style" motel could be so pleasant. Our room was in the back building and was large and quiet. The bed was the most comfortable ever -- even better than ours at home! Although dated, the room seemed to be newly painted and IMMACULATE. The housekeeper even dusted the fittings on the screen door! Breakfast was adequate. No views, but well-located close to restaurants and the town. A gem.

Room Tip: The upper level is private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I found Highbrook Motel on the web and booked three nights there. Price and rating were definite factors in this choice. I have to say that in driving by we would not have stopped there to book a room but are so glad we chose this motel! What a great place to stay. We had a mini-suite in the second building. The room was very quite, very clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. The staff were wonderful - friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided was a very nice surprise. Our next stop was in Portand and we both said how much we missed our mini-suite. We found the location worked well for all we did in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Address: 94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbrook Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.