We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has always been our favourite stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbrook Motel

Save Saved
You added Highbrook Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highbrook Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This has always been our favourite stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have stayed at this motel three times over the last 8 years. On our visit's to Bar Harbor this is our choice for overnight. Very clean, family owned business, catch the free shuttle outside motel entrance to downtown village. Stess free leave your car at the motel. Wonderful breakfast served just before you head off to your next stop. Also since we're seniors we love the quiet. We stayed in both the lower and upper section, The motel is divided into two sections lower where the office is located and upper (up the hill) for more rooms. On our last visit July 15th 2014 a tornado moved past the area north of our location, it proved to be an exciting night. No issues to report, thank the good Lord.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk that you are seniors, and suggest a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    97
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
228
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stopped in for two nights. One of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Room was spotless. Beds were new and very comfortable. Quiet at night, close to town. Free breakfast, and a nice porch on which to eat it. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Just can't say enough about the Highbrook Motel. From the outside is a beautiful and quaint throwback to days long gone. While it will fill your thoughts with lots of nostalgic thoughts, it will also provide all of the modern comforts of home. Perhaps the best thing of all is that it is yet another example of EXTREMELY clean rooms that we've had in Maine. The room, including the bathroom, was immaculately cleaned when we got there and during our visit. The staff was very helpful and friendly providing lots of good information on Bar Harbor. If you are looking for a place to stay, look no further. Book it - just book it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The motel is in a very convenient location to Acadia NP and downtown Bar Harbor which was important to us as we needed to maximize time on our short 2-day stay. I took advantage of using the free shuttle run by LL Bean to go shopping in Bar Harbor and then enjoyed a short walk back to the motel. The motel staff was very attentive and the breakfast was better than any complimentary continental breakfast I've had. We stayed in the upper building which was extremely quiet and immaculately clean. We want to return to the area again next summer and look forward to staying here again. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is an old motel but it was extremely clean. We stayed in a room with two double beds in the upper section behind the main motel. The room was large and there were no odors. The mattress and pillow were very comfortable, to us, and it was quiet. Our room had a small round table with a light hanging above it and two wing back chairs, a chair with a small area for our laptop which also had drawers for clothes and a desk lamp, an iron and ironing board, a flat screen tv, a portable fan,and a large wooden built in bench. There was an open closet across from the bathroom. Our room had a sink with a large counter top and mirror and a towel bar outside of the bathroom. The light fixture above the sink gave off a lot of light and was new. There was a dorm size refrigerator under this sink area. This area also had a blow dryer and a mini coffee maker. The bathroom had a sink with a small counter top, toilet, a small window and shower/tub combo. The bathroom tub, toilet and light above the sink were updated and so clean, the tile in our tub really shined. The AC and internet both worked very well.

The grab and go breakfast was very good. We filled a to go box and took our food back to our room. You could take as much as you wanted. They had a variety of instant oatmeal, hard boiled eggs in individual containers, egg and bacon english muffin sandwiches, yogurt, blueberry muffins, toast, bagels, bananas,cream cheese, peanut butter, jelly, coffee, tea.

The employees were nice and helpful. There is a shuttle bus that picks you up outside the hotel and I believe it runs every 15 min. until 10 PM. We drove into town. Convenient location to downtown and Acadia National Park. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel is in a nice location. Rooms are nice and had lot of space in it. Bathroom was also good. Food served was great. Hotel is recommended. Rooms clean and comfortable. The breakfast had hot option overall good and the staffs are incredibly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: super nice view like it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Awesome hotel!

Quiet. We stayed in the main building close to the office and breakfast. Breakfast was great!

Convenient. We were able to walk to downtown bar harbor (about 20 mins). Wi-Fi at the hotel made staying connected easy.

Helpful. The staff were helpful at recommending things to do and places to eat.

This was our best vacation ever! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Address: 94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbrook Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.