We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highbrook Motel

Save Saved
You added Highbrook Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highbrook Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
“Nice friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A modernized throwback to the family owned establishments of the past. Very accommodating. Close to town. Obvious pride in their business. Glad to know that this kind of caring still exists. Limited offerings in the "grab and go" breakfast, but space is limited, also. I might add some granola for the yogurt.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    89
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
189
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We found the motel clean and very convenient. Since we travel with a lot of electronic items it would have been nice to have more outlets conveniently placed. We were in a room that was a little bigger than the others with a half wall. Unfortunately the half wall is open at the top so one could not go on the other side and read at night or early a.m. without the light shining on whomever was sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This rather ordinary motel has more excellent ratings than anything else. Nope. It is an older motel, well maintained, clean, with nice helpful people, but it is old, dated, with small bathroom, no exhaust in bathroom, single lamp between beds, two tiny prints on the lime green walls that are what king of panel material??? I would stay here again, and would even recommend it, but 5 circles it ain't.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our room was spacious and immaculate. The decor is dated (1950s?) but the rooms are uncommonly clean and the facility so well maintained that it's quite charming. This motel is a great value for someone who needs a clean, comfortable place to stay that won't break the bank and isn't looking for a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are unusually spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Highbrook around 8 years ago and were amazed at how clean the rooms were. While planning our trip back to Bar Harbor this year I decided to see if my memory of the motel was close to accurate. Well, I am happy to say that I was not disapointed. The room we stayed in was sparkling clean. I've stayed in much newer and fancier hotels that couldn't come close to being this clean. The staff (family?) are very friendly and accomodating. The woman who took care of our room found out that it was my husband's birthday and made a towel sculpture with his cards, the TV remote, and some flowers. It was so sweet. We will definately stay there again and have already recomended it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have stayed there one other time and both times it didn't disappoint. Decor is a little dated, but who cares - it's roomy, comfortable, clean and convenient! Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Also, the Bar Harbor shuttle stops right at the bottom of the hill!

Room Tip: We enjoy the deluxe room - it has more space and a second sink area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband, myself and another couple were on a short trip through Maine last week. We were in Freeport and made our way to Bar Harbor and chose to stay at the Highbrook Motel. It is a lovely motel with two buildings. There is the main building along the road and a second building just a very short distance up the hill. The rooms are large, comfortable, and VERY CLEAN. They also had two big chairs in the rooms which is nice for reading or whatever you are doing rather than perching on the bed. There is also two deck chairs in front of each unit which has an overhang that protects you from rain and sun. They provide a continental breakfast with a variety of choices. You do have to take it back to your room to eat but that wasn't a problem for us. The Highbrook is a short distance from Bar Harbor town which has lots of little shops to snoop around and easy walking to the harbor. We also did the drive through Acadia National Park and Cadillac Mountain - must-do! The owners/staff at the Highbrook are very friendly and informative. We would definitely stay there again. Great location and value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Address: 94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbrook Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.