We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Highbrook Motel to your Saves list
Highbrook Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delmar, Delaware
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay....very clean!! We arrived after the office was closed and they worked with concerning the room. family run and I would stay here a and recommend Highbrook to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    101
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
77
246
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was our first visit to Bar Harbor and our first time to stay at Highbrook. We found this facility to meet if not exceed our expectations. The staff is most helpful in providing recommendations for dinner and directions to local attractions. In short, we give Highbrook Motel a 5 star rating and will stay there again. You can pay more at another location but why would you?

Very satisfied,
The Nashville Couple

Room Tip: Take rooms 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our motel room was straight out of the 1970s but looked brand-new. Everything was in fine working order and exceptionally clean. Very convenient location, good beds. Continental breakfast is not sumptuous but adequate. Having two sinks in the room was very handy. Management was right on top of a rowdy group in the next room and prevented any serious problem, much appreciated. This is obviously a family business run with great care.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have been visting Bar Harbor almost every summer since 1999, and we have always stayed at the Highbrook Motel. We love staying in the upper buidling because it is a bit more quiet, and tucked in the woods. The rooms have always been very clean and comfortable, and have felt like a home away from home. The owners and staff and friendly and welcoming, and we would recommend the Highbrook to anyone, especially if you want to stay outside of town, but not too far away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It may not be the most modern motel that we have stayed in, but it is one of the cleanest. The staff is very conscientious in their efforts to make your stay enjoyable. Just ask anyone in the office about the city or the national park, they will know the answer, whether it is about hiking or where to get the best pizza. The bus will pick up people at the end of the driveway and transport you downtown, no need to use your car (parking can be a real problem in downtown Bar Harbor). And at the end of the day, enjoy the front porch or lawn while sipping on coffee, hot chocolate, or a cold beverage. We have stayed here twice and plan to make our regular Maine getaway. 5 stars!

Room Tip: We prefer the lower level building (have also stayed in the upper unit) because of its close proximi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I liked the motel very much and would stay again. Highbrook has 2 sections - one is closer to RT 3 and the other is a little further up Highbrook Road. We stayed in the first section, which we liked.

I am plagerizing another review because it is so on point

"This is an older, charming, cared-for motel that sits up above the roadway across from the College of the Atlantic. It is right on the Bar Harbor free shuttle line going into town and up to Acadia, making it super convenient for travelers without a car and those who'd like to do dinner with no worries about driving. The "Grab and Go" breakfast is just that -- coffee, juice, oatmeal, bagels, boiled eggs, muffins and the like, but is great for getting a little something before beginning a big adventure. Cute deck seating, lawn furniture, in-room fridge and helpful staff made this a terrific three-day stay."

We used the free bus several 3 or 4 times - as the parking in Bar Harbor is limited, the bus is a great benefit. We also booked the 3 night restaurant, whale watch package. Went to Poor Boys and West Side cafe. Liked West Side better. The whale watch was ok, but the whales were somewhat shy the day we went - saw some from a distance. We thought the package was an added benefit.

Room Tip: Room 1 - 8 had more shade on the porch in the morning so eating the "grab and go" breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Highbrook Motel the first week of July, 2012. My wife, AKA the "Queen of Clean" pronounced it to be one of the cleanest places we ever stayed at. There is a shuttle bus to town, but we preferred to walk into into Bar Harbor via a sidewalk that begins across the street from the motel. It only takes 15 - 20 minutes. We stayed in one of the rooms in the back which came with sinks inside and outside of the shower/toilet room, which made it convenient for both of us to do our morning rituals at the same time. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Address: 94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbrook Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.