We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, Super nice people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbrook Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Highbrook Motel to your Saves list
Highbrook Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, Super nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very pleasant experience. Stayed there for two nights just a week ago. Good location, really large rooms, and probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed regardless of the age. All the staff were super nice and helpfull, with this being our first time in Bar Harbor their help was a real plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    101
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
77
246
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McDonald, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and it was really clean and close to everything. It was right on the bus route so you don't even need to drive your car anywhere. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I say excellent if you understand the meaning of the word motel. It reminds me of the places we used to stay when I would go on vacation with my folks as a kid. Park in front of your ground level room, unload your baggage and enjoy. We stayed in the back units to be away from the street noise and it was indeed very quiet and peaceful. Even sat on the front porch and enjoyed the cool evening after dinner in town. Our room was very clean and well maintained; the owners seem to take pride that everything is kind of retro and try to keep it that way. Can't beat the room rate and they had no vacancy when we were there, so make reservations.

Room Tip: Request the back units for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We booked two rooms for two nights based on reviews we found on Trip Advisor. And you did not disappoint us. The rooms were VERY clean, dated - but in a retro way (without meaning to be!). I thought it was charming! It was quiet, staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds, the office, and our accomodations could not have been more immaculate or well cared for. AND .... all for a reasonable price! A nice change of pace from some of the pricey rooms we've booked in the past... it was very relaxing - like my grandmother's camp.... and we will go back.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the back - rooms 14 and above to ensure quiet - although it was set up high enough I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We booked this motel online about 2 months before our trip to Bar Harbor. The picture on their site is a TAD misleading - it looks as though the entire front of the motel is grassy, but it's actually taken at the bottom of a hill. The front is all parking lot. Also, their site says the don't charge a deposit or anything until you get there, but what they don't tell you is they DO put a hold on your card for x amount of dollars. We weren't in the position where it messed up our account, but someone else may be and they should be clear about the fact that they do that. There were good things and not-so-good things about this motel.

CONS:
1) When booking, we didn't realize they would charge us for our 6 year old staying with us. We usually stay in hotels, where the price is for the room, not for the number of people IN the room (within reason). We didn't factor into our budget the $20 per night for our daughter. When asked if it could be waived, the guy at the desk said no, it's their policy that "they need to know how many people on the property at all times". I wasn't sure how one had to do with the other, so I asked if I could speak to a manager about it - he said he was the manager, that it was family owned. I was a bit confused as how a "part-owner" couldn't work with me on the fee. (It's not like we were trying to pull one over on them - we parked right in front of the office's giant window with my daughter clearly in the car). When asked about the cancellation policy, we were told it was a one night charge. We considered doing this and said we wouldn't check in yet - we'd go to dinner (it was around 6pm, if I remember correctly, and we had driven from southern NH) and call to let them know either way. According to my receipt later, he charged my card before we agreed to keep the reservation, which I didn't like. When we decided to go to another hotel (we found one right downtown AND less expensive - not charging for the extra person) we were told that it wouldn't matter if we stayed one night and cancelled, we were within the 72 hour cancellation window and would be charged regardless. After this, we decided that the whole thing put enough of a damper on our first night in Bar Harbor and just kept our reservation. We didn't have much of a choice at this point.
2) Even with the TV on, you could hear your neighbors walking on the wooden "porch/ walkway" in the morning, and their wooden-framed screen doors slamming shut.
3) There is a hook in the wall next to the 'closet area' that holds up some sort of signage - While putting our luggage in the closet area, I ripped the back pocket of my shorts on it. They should really just use a flat tack or a nail.
4) NO area in the bathroom for "stuff" - Pedestal sink and a little stainless steel shelf below the mirror that only held toothbrushes and toothpaste. Had to keep my contacts, brush, makeup, deodorant, etc., out in the room on the desk.
5) Horrible wi-fi signal. I was never able to access internet on my phone. My husband's phone said the signal was "poor".
6) Bathroom floor wasn't clean. 4-inch brown hairs on the floor (I check thoroughly in ALL hotel rooms for clean bathrooms. Rarely do I find one that gets an A+. This one would get a C)
7) Not many outlets to plug stuff in. One in the bathroom, and one in the lamp on the desk. It was hard to keep changing everything out to keep stuff charged (two cell phones and a camera charger each night, not to mention the hair dryer in the morning. I never bothered trying to straighten my hair because we always had other stuff plugged in.)

PROS:
1) Fridge in the room. This was a bonus. We bought a case of water and had a place to keep it cold. We also threw the 6 pack of Bar Harbor Ale in there that we got at the brewery the next day.
2) Free "grab and go breakfast". Helped keep restaurant costs down. The only downside of this is that it's the same thing every day - plain and cinnamon-raisin bagels, blueberry muffins, boiled eggs, oatmeal, OJ and coffee/tea. My daughter loves muffins, but likes them plain, so she made a mess eating around the blueberries. :)
3) Bed were comfortable. I like firm mattresses, and these were.

Would we stay again? Probably not. Not after actually visiting the town and getting an idea of where things were. Especially after finding other hotels/motels closer to town that were the same price or slightly better. We would have liked to be able to walk into town and have a few beers, and not have to drive. The motel website says it's a mile away from town, but from the motel to the pier, it's closer to 2 miles, according to Google Maps.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineTravelguru, General Manager at Highbrook Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
We always appreciate feedback from our guests. Whether in person or any other form, we like to hear from people who have stayed with us. It is our top priority to serve each and every person to the best of our abilities and feedback helps us find ways to better serve our guests. Unfortunately, this guest’s experience was not one that is common at our property and it’s a shame because it could have been much more positive with just a little more communication from the guest.

The overwhelming issue with this customer was the extra person charge. Despite her attempts to misrepresent her reservation and falsely register, the customer was unable to elude the extra person charge. She even tried referencing the rates and policies of other hotels as a reason for her falsifying the paperwork. She was indecisive about wanting to stay when she realized that she would have to pay the extra person charge. So she decided to go and shop around for another place to stay before making a decision. Upon returning, her husband came in to speak with me and he was very understanding of the situation. He clearly realized the circumstances and was just trying to find a way to make his wife happy. I offered to let them out of the reservation after one night with no penalty just so we wouldn’t have a disgruntled guest staying with us for four days. Even after they shopped out other properties and refused an offer to let us help them find other accommodations, they decided they wanted to stay for the entire reservation.

In regard to the other comments about the housekeeping, Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, location, property photo, reservation policy, etc., these are either fabricated, misguided or just an attempt to pile on criticism to a business with policies that didn’t fit their plans. As an example, you can go to Google Maps and get directions from our address, 94 Eden Street, to the Town Pier at 1 West Street in Bar Harbor, Maine. You can see for yourself that it is, in fact, 1 mile away. None of these issues were ever brought to our attention during or after their stay. We can’t resolve issues that we are never made aware of. Our staff is available every day to assist guests so if there is an issue, or if you need something, all you have to do is ask. This guest didn’t even fill out the comment slip provided in the room prior to checkout. The housekeeping criticism was one of the more intriguing ones to our staff as this guest requested not to have her room serviced the entire time she was here. If there was any issue with the facility we were never made aware of it or allowed to remedy anything.

We always strive to treat everyone with the same respect and courtesy, no matter what the circumstances are. We make no attempts to mislead anyone or misrepresent anything but sometimes people’s assumptions or intentions just don’t coincide with our policies. Hopefully, this review will help clarify any similar situation that may arise in the future and nullify it before it happens.

We try to explain our rates and policies as best we can through our advertising and our website. We invite any potential guests to contact us by phone or email if they should have any questions about our rates or extra person charges. We hope that you will read the other reviews that we have had over the years to get a better sense of what we have to offer and how hard we strive to please our customers.


Best Regards,
Adam Bowden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Highbrook. The room was immaculate and well cleaned every day. June and her son, Adam, were so helpful with their suggestions as we planned our daily activities. The "to go" breakfast was a good start to our day. An added plus was the refrigerator in our room where we could keep fruit, yogurt etc to snack on during the day. Great location away from the "busyness" of Bar Harbor, but a comfortable walk into town. We would definitely stay at the Highbrook again should we have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Spotless! Family owned & operated; owners always on premises. This is our 5th visit to Acadia in 4 years. We always stay at the Highbrook because it is clean, situated 1 mile from downtown and a mile or two from Acadia's main entrance. The Island Explorer bus stops at the end of the driveway. Has small fridge for leftovers, etc. Parking is within 10 feet of your room (4 steps up)-nice porch for chillin' at the start or end of your day.
PS-if you're coming to Acadia, plan to stay at least 3 or 4 nights-there's too much to see and do in just a day or two.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrook Motel

Address: 94 Eden Street, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbrook Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highbrook Motel rests on a 3 acre hillside, 1 mile from Downtown Bar Harbor. We are 1 mile from Acadia National Park. You can catch a free seasonal shuttle to town from the motel between 7am-10pm. All rooms are smoke-free and feature A/C, coffee makers, and Wi-Fi. All rooms have refrigerators and we offer complimentary coffee and tea all day. Our "Grab & Go" continental breakfast is also available each morning from 7am-10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Highbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Highbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbrook Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.