We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Breakfast, No Hot Water, No one to talk to!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heathwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heathwood Inn
Save
You added Heathwood Inn to your Saves list
6 Long and Winding Road, Route #3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Magnolia, Delaware
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No Breakfast, No Hot Water, No one to talk to!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Staying at Heathwood right now, but just till the morning. Informed that they have no Breakfast.
A Bed & Breakfast without a Breakfast? Wasn't too bad until we visited the shower and found out there was no steam or hot water but still could brush the teeth. Attempted to contact management with no answer, "just call me at anytime if you have a problem" Checking out in the morning and disputing my credit card bill at the same time. BEWARE! Really think all these glowing reports are from the owners and their friends.

Room Tip: Please stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at the Heathwood for a week and couldn't have been happier! The combination of a great location on the island and the warm and wonderful accommodations were terrific. There is kayaking within a half mile of the property on Northeast Creek. The innkeeper really knew the island and arranged bike rentals (delivered right to the inn) and reservations at great restaurants (both elegant and casual). We're looking forward to another week of vacation in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: The Master Suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Heathwood for a long weekend this past summer. We had done some research on what we wanted to do during our visit but still had a few questions. Karen was absolutely amazing and so incredibly helpful. She pointed us in the direction of Bar Harbor's best lobster rolls and gave us some great sightseeing and hiking recommendations for Acadia National Park as well.
Our room was immaculate and breakfast was tasty- far better than any other b&b meal I've ever had.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this B&B for two nights while on a long weekend trip to Acadia. We booked this sort of last minute and options were limited (and prices steep given the high season).

The manager of the B&B was extremely helpful, and very knowledgeable on local dining options and hiking trails/activities. She even lent us her book with trail maps.

The property is a bit aged. The room we stayed in (Gorham) had a mobile-floor standing AC unit which was a bit noisy. The biggest problem was the mattress though - extremely saggy which means we sunk towards the center of it and couldn't get a decent night's sleep. Another couple that was traveling with us and stayed in the second room on the ground floor also had the same problem.

Value for money was poor given the bad quality of sleep - exacerbated by the inflated prices that come with Acadia's high touristic season.

We love Acadia and it offers amazing activities - e.g. biking and hiking, as well as good food. Next time we will try to stay at Northeast Harbor to avoid the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this property unless they replace the mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Heathwood Inn in September and used it as a base for exploring Acadia National Park. The owner was very helpful in suggesting hikes and providing a map book of the park. Her breakfasts each morning were delicious too--coffee cakes and egg dishes. The other guests were all very friendly, which made for nice breakfast gatherings.

We stayed in the Eden Room with the Jacuzzi tub--and wow, is that a spacious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the furnishings. If selecting this room, you should be aware that it is right off the sitting room where breakfast is served, so you'll hear breakfast being set up and people gathering. Also, despite the huge bathroom and tub, the shower is quite small.

We were very happy with our choice of bed and breakfast. It is somewhat outside of town but we were glad to be away from the hustle and bustle. It also made for a shorter drive to the western portion of the National Park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

After searching and searching for a B & B for our first trip to Maine, we settled on the Heathwood. With so many choices, we were nervous about making the right decision. We were relieved when we entered our spacious and comfortable room. I was disappointed that we didn't get the opportunity to enjoy the large deck off the room due to wet mornings. Karen, the innkeeper, was very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were simple, delicious and filling. We felt very at home, other guests were equally friendly. The inn was a short drive from Bar Harbor and Acadia which at first we were not wild about but it turned out to be fine, parking in Bar Harbor was somewhat limiting (3 hours) but we worked around it. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in late August and LOVED it! Karen is a wonderful hostess. Her breakfasts are delicious and satisfying and she is full of ideas and recommendations for things to do and see around the island. Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is a warm and friendly experience with Karen and her guests sharing island experiences as well as suggesting things to do. Would stay here again on our next trip to Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heathwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathwood Inn

Address: 6 Long and Winding Road, Route #3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathwood Inn is an 1890's farmhouse located on the Acadia National Scenic byway. Each of the inn's 5 comfortably decorated guest rooms offer special amenities including steam showers, a sauna, or whirlpool tub making the inn the perfect place to unwind after an active day in Acadia National Park. Each day at the Heathwood starts with a full hot breakfast featuring homemade goodies baked fresh each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heathwood Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heathwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.