We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holland Inn
Save
You added Holland Inn to your Saves list
35 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the holland inn! Breakfast was delicious every morning and the inn keeper is very knowledgable about Bar Harbor and provides great suggestions for hikes and things to do. Our room was spotless and thoroughly cleaned each day. I also feel like the pictures online don't do the room justice as our room was really nice to stay. The location is great too because it's really close to the harbor but also set aside in a quiet side street. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    37
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
267
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is a very nice and cosy place, run by a marvelously welcoming and friendly host, who helped me to organize a quick trip to the Acadia Park and suggested quite a nice place for dinner.
Room is comortable and cosy, maybe a bit small, but it was ok for me. Tasty breakfast, quite and convenient position.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights from 8/15/14 through 8/18/14. We loved the Inn and Innkeeper Evan ( spelling?), she was always there to help and her suggestions on where to eat, visit, tours and where to explore were dead on. The Holland Inn is close to town so you can walk everywhere, which is a huge bonus since parking is at a premium. The rooms were simple, well furnished and spacious; and the mattress was firm which was to my liking. The breakfasts were fantastic, something different everyday all served with juice, coffee and a smile. The only negative thing I could possibly say about this place and it's really pretty minor is the pillows seemed to be cheaper and needed replacing; again this is the only negative I could come up with and it would never affect my review scoring. Overall I would not hesitate to stay here again as it was a wonderful experience and Evan and her staff should be commended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was our first trip to Bar Harbor and I'm so glad we picked the holland Inn for our bed and breakfast! The owner is awesome and always around to help her guests. We stayed in the Wonderland room. It was the perfect size, private bathroom, and had a great little balcony to sit on. Everything was clean and comfortable. We had gourmet breakfasts every morning that were amazing! The inn was right by main st. where all of the stores and restaurants are. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The wonderland room has a cute balcony to sit on
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The breakfast was very good. The buildings were too close together, giving an impression of crowded facilities. Innkeeper very talkative. Our room was small even though it was one of the newer ones. I didn't like the placement of the chairs right at the foot of the bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Evin was so helpful and friendly, and the breakfasts were practically gourmet. She had loads of good information and tips during our short stay. I highly recommend this B&B for a Bar Harbor trip. Our room was very comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beehive room, which at the time of our stay came with a dedicated parking spot in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was a very pleasant surprise given how late we decided to book (high season I believe, mid-August 2014) . We stayed for 3 nights and had a blast. You are just outside of the busy part of downtown Bar Harbor, at about a 3-5min walk. Owner was kind, no-nonsense and very knowledgeable of places to visit, bike, hike to and the food (breakfast) was fantastic. My only minor beef with the room was the mattress, as it was a bit too soft for me (personal pref). Slept well anyway because of the amount of biking and hiking we did. If you are thinking of "hiking" the Beehive, make sure its not raining (there are little safety features along the steep ascent) :); I would not recommend this trail to families with smaller kids (or smaller people in general), although we had some kids pass (sprint past) us like mountain goats.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Address: 35 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Inn is one of the only Non-Victorian B&B's in Bar Harbor. Informal, yet professional and very clean. Informative, friendly innkeeper, comfortable rooms, super location, competitive rates and a full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.