We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B & B with excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holland Inn
35 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice B & B with excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in Holland Inn for 3 nights in September 2012. The rooms are really nice, and the location is good as well (about 5 minutes walk to Main Street, with a lot of restaurants and shops). The next entrance to stunningly beautiful Acadia national park is only a 5 minute drive away.
The best thing about Holland Inn is Evin the Innkeeper. She was really helpful, gave us great tips for hiking in the park, and served a superb (and totally different) breakfast every morning.
A highly recommended stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    29
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
217
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newtown
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

You have found THE place to stay in Bar Harbor! You will not find a better breakfast any where in Bar Harbor. The staff could not be more gracious or friendly. At this place you get MORE than you pay for.....don't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the beech cliff room and it was great, very spacious and super clean! This was my first B&B experience and it was beyond what I expected. The breakfast was great and the hostess is very friendly and willing to help you make the most of your trip. Not a far walk from the center of town at all either,,,I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Inn was just beautiful, very warm and inviting. Great location, short walk to downtown Bar Harbor, easy visit to Acadia and many more activities. Evin is a great hostess with suggestions for things to do. Breakfast was awesome! I would definitely return and recommend a visit to Holland Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice stay. Friendly, informative host with breakfasts featuring a variety of interesting tastes. Great location for us - bank, grocery store, and laundromat all within a few hundred feet., and a half-mile walk to the downtown area and waterfront. Room was very nice; just missing a writing desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Holland Inn was perfect for our trip. We stayed two days in the Pretty Marsh room. The room was very clean and updated. It was seperate from the main house on the first floor. We had a king bed, a small fridge, coffee maker, and a small sitting area. It couldn't not have been any nicer. The inn was located on the edge of town and we walked everywhere. The inn keeper was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us insights on where to go and what to see. We plan on returning to Bar Harbor and will absolutely stay at the Holland Inn.

Room Tip: Must see Acadia Park... drive the loop and get out on the stops.... fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay in the Ship Harbor room. It was wonderfully quiet and very comfortable, though we spent most of our time out exploring Acadia and the town. Evin is a gracious innkeeper and has outstanding advice on restaurants, sights and the region. Her breakfasts are a treat and we really enjoyed laughing it up with our fellow diners. The inn is in a super location, convenient to several great restaurants and a bike rental shop.

We plan to go back to visit the area again and will definitely make Holland Inn our top priority for booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#12 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#4 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#6 of 33 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Address: 35 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Inn is one of the only Non-Victorian B&B's in Bar Harbor. Informal, yet professional and very clean. Informative, friendly innkeeper, comfortable rooms, super location, competitive rates and a full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holland Inn to your Saves list