We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holland Inn
Save
You added Holland Inn to your Saves list
35 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the beech cliff room and it was great, very spacious and super clean! This was my first B&B experience and it was beyond what I expected. The breakfast was great and the hostess is very friendly and willing to help you make the most of your trip. Not a far walk from the center of town at all either,,,I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    32
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
248
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Inn was just beautiful, very warm and inviting. Great location, short walk to downtown Bar Harbor, easy visit to Acadia and many more activities. Evin is a great hostess with suggestions for things to do. Breakfast was awesome! I would definitely return and recommend a visit to Holland Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice stay. Friendly, informative host with breakfasts featuring a variety of interesting tastes. Great location for us - bank, grocery store, and laundromat all within a few hundred feet., and a half-mile walk to the downtown area and waterfront. Room was very nice; just missing a writing desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Holland Inn was perfect for our trip. We stayed two days in the Pretty Marsh room. The room was very clean and updated. It was seperate from the main house on the first floor. We had a king bed, a small fridge, coffee maker, and a small sitting area. It couldn't not have been any nicer. The inn was located on the edge of town and we walked everywhere. The inn keeper was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us insights on where to go and what to see. We plan on returning to Bar Harbor and will absolutely stay at the Holland Inn.

Room Tip: Must see Acadia Park... drive the loop and get out on the stops.... fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay in the Ship Harbor room. It was wonderfully quiet and very comfortable, though we spent most of our time out exploring Acadia and the town. Evin is a gracious innkeeper and has outstanding advice on restaurants, sights and the region. Her breakfasts are a treat and we really enjoyed laughing it up with our fellow diners. The inn is in a super location, convenient to several great restaurants and a bike rental shop.

We plan to go back to visit the area again and will definitely make Holland Inn our top priority for booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Holland Inn is located a short stroll from downtown Bar Harbor. We stayed in the Valley Room located int the house behind the Main House. It was spacious with a King sized bed and a sitting area. LCD TV, DVD player, and coffee maker. The room was well decorated with homey decor. The innkeeper, Evin, was gracious and very helpful. Breakfast each day was delicious and home made with fresh fruit and herbs from the garden. Evin served the breakfast and gave information about what was happening for the day, including a weather report and how many cruise passengers were in port that day.

There are many Inn and B&B's in Bar Harbor, but this has to be one the best. It is very reasonably price, too!

I would recommend it highly and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked the guest house in the back. It is very quiet and in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niles,mi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for one night in late August and had a excellent stay. We arrived late afternoon and Evin checked us a nd another couple in at the same time. She then asked us about dinner plans and gave us suggestions on places to eat and things to do at night. In the morning after a great breakfast Evin gave us suggestions on places to stop in Acadia National Park on our motorcycle.In addition she also gave us some other suggestion on places to see on our motorcycle that were off of the beaten path.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Address: 35 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Inn is one of the only Non-Victorian B&B's in Bar Harbor. Informal, yet professional and very clean. Informative, friendly innkeeper, comfortable rooms, super location, competitive rates and a full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.