We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Be Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holland Inn
Save Saved
You added Holland Inn to your Saves list
35 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Couldn't Be Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Holland Inn was perfect for our trip. We stayed two days in the Pretty Marsh room. The room was very clean and updated. It was seperate from the main house on the first floor. We had a king bed, a small fridge, coffee maker, and a small sitting area. It couldn't not have been any nicer. The inn was located on the edge of town and we walked everywhere. The inn keeper was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us insights on where to go and what to see. We plan on returning to Bar Harbor and will absolutely stay at the Holland Inn.

Room Tip: Must see Acadia Park... drive the loop and get out on the stops.... fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
238
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay in the Ship Harbor room. It was wonderfully quiet and very comfortable, though we spent most of our time out exploring Acadia and the town. Evin is a gracious innkeeper and has outstanding advice on restaurants, sights and the region. Her breakfasts are a treat and we really enjoyed laughing it up with our fellow diners. The inn is in a super location, convenient to several great restaurants and a bike rental shop.

We plan to go back to visit the area again and will definitely make Holland Inn our top priority for booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Holland Inn is located a short stroll from downtown Bar Harbor. We stayed in the Valley Room located int the house behind the Main House. It was spacious with a King sized bed and a sitting area. LCD TV, DVD player, and coffee maker. The room was well decorated with homey decor. The innkeeper, Evin, was gracious and very helpful. Breakfast each day was delicious and home made with fresh fruit and herbs from the garden. Evin served the breakfast and gave information about what was happening for the day, including a weather report and how many cruise passengers were in port that day.

There are many Inn and B&B's in Bar Harbor, but this has to be one the best. It is very reasonably price, too!

I would recommend it highly and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked the guest house in the back. It is very quiet and in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niles,mi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for one night in late August and had a excellent stay. We arrived late afternoon and Evin checked us a nd another couple in at the same time. She then asked us about dinner plans and gave us suggestions on places to eat and things to do at night. In the morning after a great breakfast Evin gave us suggestions on places to stop in Acadia National Park on our motorcycle.In addition she also gave us some other suggestion on places to see on our motorcycle that were off of the beaten path.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 night. It was wonderful. When we arrived to the holland inn,
Evin, the owner, upgraded our room complimentary because it was our honeymoon.
The room was beautiful and unique.
The breakfast was delicious and healthy.
The location is in the center of bar harbor.
Evin gave us directions and a map for our one day trip to Acadia and some good tips for restaurants .
In total - it was a verry good choice and defiantly will come back again.





  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Bar Harbor. It turned out to be a very last minute one and I count myself very lucky to be able to get into the Holland Inn. We stayed in two rooms over four nights. It was fantastic! Evin is incredibly knowledgable, helpful. Given that this was a last-minute trip, we arrive with very little plans and she was able to give us an overview and also help us plan our days. The location was great and the rooms were terrific. We were on a kid-free getaway, and it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is an awesome place to stay in Bar Harbor. Two night mid-September stay w/ girlfriend and parents. Us, 30's stayed in Pretty Marsh room, them 50's stayed in Valley Cove room. Both rooms were great, big beds, quiet, plenty of sitting area, fridge, TV, GIGANTIC TV REMOTE, and all the stuff we needed to help us enjoy a first trip to Bar Harbor, i.e. brochures, menus, maps, and lots of character.

Evin is a meticulous and very accommodating innkeeper. At checkin, the first thing you do is sign up for your breakfast time. Evin asks you to choose a time slot, 7:30, 8:30 or 9:30 and make her aware of any dietary restrictions which she then notates on this big breakfast board. My parents, both very risk averse eaters, engaged Evin in a ten minute dialogue about what they like and do not like for breakfast, while Evin made note after note on her board, tracking every shunned breakfast item my parents rattled off. Very funny, but I'm sure appreciated. On the other hand, the breakfast prepared for my girlfriend and me was chock full of ingredients, flavor and creativity. The chef’s versatility is impressive.

I highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Pretty Marsh in the small house is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Address: 35 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holland Inn is one of the only Non-Victorian B&B's in Bar Harbor. Informal, yet professional and very clean. Informative, friendly innkeeper, comfortable rooms, super location, competitive rates and a full gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holland Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.