We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family oriented” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ImprovAcadia

ImprovAcadia
15 Cottage St., 2nd Floor, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-2503
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 nightlife in Bar Harbor
Type: Comedy Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: ImprovAcadia offers improv comedy shows seven nights a week during the season. ImprovAcadia features a cast of professional improvisers from Chicago, New York and Los Angeles. See the performers create a hilarious show using only your suggestions and their quick wits! Call 207-288-2503 to get show times and to make a reservation. Full bar, light snacks and desserts available. First show of every night is family friendly. Under 21 must be accompanied by an adult.
niles,mi
2 reviews
“family oriented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very good entertainment and the comedians were very good at improvising on the spot and involving the audience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    26
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Prepare to laugh hysterically!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our vacation wound up including a good bit of improv, a type of theater that was new for us. We was several performances in Portland which were good enou for us to consider taking in Improv Acadia while on MDI. We saw the 8p showing on the second night on the island. The performance was soooo entertaining that we went back for a second night of our limited vacation time there. It's a must do!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Comedy Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I are retired and vacation in Bar Harbor in the early summer and fall. We discovered ImprovAcadia 5 years ago and liked it so much we go to their shows a few times a week during each of our visits. This is a real comedy jewel! Each show is different and all are very funny. The actors are top notch. The owners, who perform with Second City on a cruise ship in the winter, go to Chicago each year to audition actors for the next summer. They bring in about 25 improvisors who make up casts of 4 or 5 and change over every few weeks throughout the season. Most actors we’ve seen at ImprovAcadia have performed on the Second City Main Stage, Second City Touring Company or Second City Boat Company. These are seasoned, well trained improvisors with lots of talent! This is rare to find outside of Chicago. And you are a lot closer here. It’s a small, intimate theater (~50 seat) affording everyone an up-close experience. There is table service offering local ice cream, nachos, salsa, wine, various beers and mixed drinks, all reasonably priced. There is no pressure to buy anything. It is a very friendly and cordial atmosphere. At $16 an adult ($12 children) this is a real bargain. If you are looking for a fun night out and want to laugh really hard, this is the place to go!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good for a few laughs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I'll start by saying my wife and I love comedy, but for the most part, often find improv somewhat lacking unless being done by really good comedian/actors (like some of the people that were on the old Drew Carey improv show). So going into this with lower expectations, it was about what we expected. The show ran around 80 minutes with two breaks. They have a family-rated show at 8pm, and adults only at 10 (which we attended). A person comes around asking for drink/snack orders during the evening. The keyboard player was superb and his music really added to the performances. They're located on the second floor above Great Maine Breakfast. A theater performance we highly recommend and can't find at this time on the TripAdvisor site is the Acadia Repertory Theater in Somesville which we attended recently and in years past. The rep group is definitely 5 stars!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's a riot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Do your best to see this improv review, featuring highly trained comedians from Chicago's Second City group. It's a riot.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ImprovAcadia also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to ImprovAcadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ImprovAcadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.