We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite like the pictures, but still nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quimby House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Quimby House Inn to your Saves list
Quimby House Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Cottage Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Saranac Lake, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not quite like the pictures, but still nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I staied at this hotel for business for amost one week. I booked one of their largest rooms, and was glad I did so because it was basically the size of a normal hotel room. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The location is perfectly close to the main shopping street and ocean. I believe this is one of the few hotels open in this area all year round. I would stay here again if I every have the chance to hit Maine again.

Room Tip: No pool. No restaurant. Ask for a room off the street, as there's a small bar accross the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    68
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
111
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived in Maine late afternoon and found BW we planned to stay at was closed for the season and then to our mounting horror it appeared that 'Everything was Closed for the Season' !! With a sinking feeling drove into Bar Harbor and found next to nothing so turned around to go back to the only Motel we saw open and saw the porch light of Quimby's. Have you a room ? Sure , said mine host and that was that ! A lovely Old Style Hotel , more like a B+B,with lovely large furnished rooms and good coffee in the foyer and family run and pretty good value ! I didn't feel like driving anymore that day. We were told the names of 2 good places to eat and the one we picked turned out trumps and our post meal stroll around town after was pleasant. The wife picked up some fudge from the Ice Cream store but unfortunately the dog ate it at a later stop and that's another story ! A pretty good spot really !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked this inn after looking at the pictures of the rooms on the internet. We were shocked to see the actual room. It looked nothing like the one on the internet! It was dark, shabby, and the sink is actually in the room, not in the bathroom. It had an ancient television in a cabinet, a refrigerator, a chair, a king-sized bed, and a wall rack to hang clothes - no closet. The bed seemed unclean with threadbare sheets. The bathmat was also threadbare and a dingy dirty gray. The towels, however, were cranberry colored and thick. The owners said their website had not been updated for a year!
The hotel looks great from the outside and is within walking distance to the town and harbor, and there is adequate parking behind the building. This all belies the condition of the room!
We would stay at the nearby Holiday Inn next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location was perfect in Bar Harbor; close enough to explore downtown without all the congestion. The innkeepers Tim and Danielle were exceptional hosts, always available to answer any questions we had. Danielle is also a excellent source for Acadia Nationall Park since she has hiked all the trails in the park. We loved the inn, very clean and quiet. The park was only a few minutes drive away, or there is a path nearby to walk to the park. There are a few breakfasts places a few steps from the inn. The most affordable and fastest was Jeannie's Breakfast. I would definately recommed this inn to any of my friends or family traveling in the area. Thank you again Tim and Danielle for a excellent stay in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Pros:
* Pet friendly
* Affordable rate with very good and consistent TripAdvisor reviews/ratings (why we chose it)
* Very clean
* Great location - short walk to downtown and harbor, restaurants. Short drive to Acadia National Park.
* Great location - bike rental place across the street, gas station, convenient store and supermarket right next door.
* Owner Tim and staff we met are friendly and helpful when we had questions. The refrigerator in the room was making humming pitch that was giving us headaches. We turned it off when we are in the room and Tim address the issue.
* Separate entrance for pet friendly room and can park right in front of the room - very convenient

Cons:
* Our room is the farthest room in annex bldg, wifi from main bldg does not reach the room. We didn't need to be connected 24x7, so going to the main bldg is not an issue and the setup is comfortable there, just not as convenient. Owner told us he has been trying various things to get wifi there and plans to try something else during off season.

It was a nice experience and we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If 24x7 Internet connectivity is important, check with inn before selecting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Convenient walk to downtown and easy access to Acadia National Park
Sheets need to be replaced (well worn and small holes)
Could offer continental breakfast with the coffee. Owner not as friendly as other reviews on this site would indicate

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Quimby House! The location is ideal, the staff all very friendly and helpful, the rooms were dated but immaculate! Great housekeeping staff! For Bar Harbor, the inn was one of the more affordable ones. Would highly recommend this to anyone considering a visit to Bar Harbor, you will not be disappointed. We had such an enjoyable stay, we cannot wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We were in a room on the second floor, and it was so spacious! Two queen size beds, a pull out slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quimby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quimby House Inn

Address: 109 Cottage Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quimby House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial-style inn within minute's walk to Bar Harbor's waterfront, restaurants, shops, and bike and kayak rentals. One mile to Acadia National Park, Cadillac Mountain, and Kebo Valley Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Quimby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quimby House Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Hotel Bar Harbor
Quimby Bar Harbor
Quimby House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quimby House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.