We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh lobster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound

Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound
35 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-0346
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 119 restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Island Park, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a place for casual dining. I don't remember a tablecloth! The food was fresh but I don't remember having many side dish choices. We were served quickly. this restaurant is on the harbor and was located conveniently downtown. It was open for dinner until late in the evening. We wanted 2 lb or larger lobsters and not every restaurant had them. This one did!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    278
    241
    123
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had a fabulous meal to celebrate our honeymoon. Only downside was we'd hoped to be outside, but we were visiting off peak and arrived later in the evening. Service was phenomenal. Would recommend it to anyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place To EAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We ate there twice during our stay at The Harborside the food was excellent the clam chowder is a must have and the lobsters were perfect don't miss it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lobster!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best lobster that we had during our Maine vacation! And blueberry pie - nothing compared anywhere else we tried!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lobster and clams magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This place is right near the dock for the cruise ships, so you might think it is just an over-hyped tourist spot. Don't be fooled. The food is wonderful, and the portions are huge! Also, the wait-staff are fun and friendly. If you have a lobster in Bar Harbor, this is the place to do it. If you a clam fan, the fried clam basket here is remarkably good. Also, if you like cider, be sure to try the Fatty Bumpkins draft--a dry and crisp Maine product that is sure to please. Oh, and don't miss dessert--the chocolate cake is beyond sinful!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.