We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful day, great lobster meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound

Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound
35 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-0346
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful day, great lobster meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lunch here after getting off the cruise ship. Friends had eaten here and highly recommended it. The 1.5# lobster dinner was excellent. Just what we were looking for. The fish and chips were tasty, as was the chicken sandwich. The atmosphere is outstanding with a great view of the harbor. We ate outside on the deck. Beautiful day and an excellent meal. We'd do it again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    301
    158
    64
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kathleen, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

the food was great, good for the money, staff was very friendly. the blueberry pie is heavenly!!! a must visit

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“YUMMY LOBSTER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Being on a cruise, we didn't want to pay the $30 for Maine lobster on the ship, so we waited till we stopped in Bar Harbor & was directed to Stewmans and was delicious! We actually picked the lobsters we wanted steamed. The service pretty bad, but at least the server was cute... As for thebigami's review, who goes to New England for STEAK??? Next time go west young man!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good value - poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

There were 2 cruise ships in the Harbor, so it seems the staff had been very busy - but we had to ask for a table in the sunshine (a fresh October day) - and were not allowed to sit at a table in the sunniest part. Having been seated, we then had to wait for service. Food was good value - good clam chowder, and lobster. Once we had our food, nearly impossible to catch waiter's eye to order a second drink......
Just a shame that the staff seemed a bit burned out, and doing a 'job' rather than enjoying what they do.
Outdoor heaters would have made the areas in the shade more acceptable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Appalling!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Unbelievably poor service and attention in a near empty restaurant . Had to ask for cutlery, wrong wine, undercooked steak.... worst meal in three weeks touring New England

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.