We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service by Gail, food, atmosphere were excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound

Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound
35 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-0346
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 119 restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
“Service by Gail, food, atmosphere were excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were a little leery that this place was a tourist trap. However, we were pleasantly surprised as to how good and reasonable the food was. Gail served us outside. She was friendly and fun, even taking multiple photos for us. She also recommended an excellent wine that ended up being very reasonably priced. Great service, food and a great time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    276
    239
    123
    46
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Server disinterested/Lobster good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our sever wasn't really interested in serving us. Not rude but not friendly or helpful. Food was ok, not great. Probably rely on the ocean view to keep people coming. Just average all around. Would not return there are better places everywhere around Bar Harbor.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Service, even if a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We sat outside and enjoyed the great view even if it was a little cold. The pumpkin beer was good but did not like blueberry margarita. Our waiter was from Scotland and works here for the summer, Florida in the winter. he did. A good job even though it was busy and enjoyed talking with him. Try the fresh clam basket if you get the chance, you get a lot for the money even though you are in Bar Harbor on the water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice bay-side eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a nice casual place to eat while visiting Bar Harbor and found this place. We ate upstairs on the deck, great view of the harbor and all the activity that goes with it. The food was very good, drinks were yummy and the service was delightfull. Kudos to Gail as she greeted us with a nice Maine smile and kept us hydrated...

Thumbs up from two kids from California. :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great waterfront views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our dinner here on first night in Bar Harbor. My husband the Lobster Experience, clam chowder and lobster were very good. I had lobster stew which was a new item for me, great flavor and large amount if lobster. Restaurant was crowded when we walked in at 6pm, we were seated in deck area with space heaters on a chilly night, it was a little cool yet in the room but good views. The service was average, no water offered, waitress did not check in with us after food was served.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stewman's Downtown Lobster Pound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.