We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Save
You added Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel to your Saves list
12 Atlantic Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great inn, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed in the Bubbles room and it was perfect for a family of four. Very spacious. The location is great, close enough to downtown Bar Harbor to walk everywhere while still being on a quiet side street. The breakfasts where yummy especially the home made pastries. My only complaint, a very small one, is that the main breakfast selections (eggs and pancakes) did not vary from day to day. All in all it was a great stay and the staff were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseleysays, Owner at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.We offer the same menu each day because it pretty much covers what most people are looking for.If we had known you were looking for something else we would have been happy to prepare it for you.Please let us know next time if you come back for a visit with us.Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    188
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
226
406
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our first time in Bar Harbor, we picked the right place to stay! Just off Main Street but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of town, this quiet Inn was just what we were looking for.... Beautifully decorated, spacious rooms, tasty breakfasts, owners and staff pleasant and helpful! Loved being able to walk into town! Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Precipice room, bright and airy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed in the Precipice Room which is a little slice of heaven on the 3rd floor. Very spacious and light. Loved it. Beautiful linens and so comfortable. The breakfasts are fresh and delicious and generous with many wonderful selections -- we enjoyed having it served on the porch. The scones with fresh Maine blueberries and eggs Benedict to order kept us going all afternoon. The hospitality and helpful nature of the hosts with cafe suggestions and things to do also made for a delightful time. Hated to get off that wicker settee and climb into the car. Such a lovely setting. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed in a motel room for several days. The room was clean and comfortable and right in the heart of Bar Harbor...close to shops, restaurants and the Shore Path. We would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We loved Bar Harbor and our stay at Moseley Cottage Inn! The room was perfect and the location is the best. We looked forward to our morning and evening walks to the harbor! The owners and their staff were so nice! We recommend this Inn highly. The breakfasts are delicious, too! Thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed in the motel. The room was very clean and the king size bed comfortable. The motel is within walking distance of many shops restaurants and the harbour. I had knee replacement surgery and had no difficulty. The only comment I would ask any hotel proprietor "if you put a grab bar in the tub and shower, why not put in a toilet that is ADA height?"

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I was hesitant to book this Inn and the Cadillac room after reading reviews that the rooms were super small and seeing on the Inns website that "what you see is what you get!" That said, we had a wonderful stay at this Inn and enjoyed the Cadillac room. Yes, it is small but they have made the room feel cozy and warm. My husband is 6'4 and we had no trouble sharing this room together as a couple (queen bed) and our luggage.

The bathroom in our room was especially great with an updated shower, GREAT water pressue and extra towels and toiletries already provided. Don't let the old fashioned toilet scare you! :)

We also enjoyed the breakfast at the Inn in the morning and loved the close proximity to Bar Harbor's center; we could park our car at the Inn and walk everywhere including walking to the shuttle for Acadia and all restaurants. When we checked in we were greeted warmly by a knowledgeable staff on what to see and do around town and Acadia who gave us maps to use for the park and the town.

We would absolutely stay here again and plan on returning to Acadia soon. We would have extended our stay at the Inn had it not been sold out. Great deal for this charming spot!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.