We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place. Friendly and Professional staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Save Saved
You added Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
12 Atlantic Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place. Friendly and Professional staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

We were visiting from Michigan and stayed a couple of nights in the motel and one night in the house. I can only write good things about our stay. The grounds are very nice and well maintained. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful in suggesting activities in the area. The food was excellent. If I find myself in Bar Harbor again, I will stay at the Moseley Cottage and Town Motel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    553
    171
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
196
355
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

For anyone visiting Bar Harbour this is a wonderful place to stay.
Off on one of the side streets but very close to everything in town you might want to see.
Quiet, peaceful and very welcoming. Wonderful big breakfast in the morning as well. The staff are lovely.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Charming and beautiful and very peaceful even in the midst of this bustling coastal town. And then the breakfast! The best apricot scones I've ever had! The inn keepers are wonderful and warm people and helped my stay in Bar Harbor to be a magical one.

  • Liked — The beauty and comfort and charm
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Just returned from a vacation in Bar Harbor and stayed at the Moseley Cottage and Town Motel. We stayed in the motel portion of the property for $140 US per night. The location is fantastic if you are looking for a place where you can just park your car and then explore the town on foot. They have on site parking for guests. It is very difficult to find street parking during the day in the downtown core in peak season due to the high number of tourists. The motel was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Our room had a small refrigerator. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was excellent at $10 per person for motel guests. Lots of home made muffins, breads etc. plus you can also order a hot breakfast of eggs, bacon etc. if you want something a little more filling. Would highly recommend the guided boat trip to Cranberry Island with the National Park Service guide that is listed in one of the local tourism brochures. Definitely would recommend this property to others and plan to return again. Excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Family of three just returned from the Moseley Cottage Inn. We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff was friendly, but not in an overly way. My many questions were answered and recommendations were very good as well. We had to change rooms during our stay due to same room was not available for our stay, however we loved seeing and spending time in the different rooms. Both rooms had excellent linens,mattress and big fluffy towels. The only complaint, if you can call it that, is the fridge in one of the rooms made "funny" noises during the night. The Inn is within very close walking distance to shops, sea kayak outfitters and a short distant drive to Acadia Park. All-in-all a very enjoyable stay. !! I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Great location... Rooms were okay... Staff was very friendly and ready to help.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseleysays, owner at Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, responded to this review, July 31, 2008
I believe you are commenting on the motel rooms which are a lot different from the Moseley Cottage Inn.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We just returned from a stay at Moseley Cottage Inn at Bar Harbor, Maine. We stayed in 3rd floor room called the Precipice which was aptly titled. The room is very spacious and has 7 windows which allows for wonderful air flow and a view of the water. Location was perfect and within easy walking distance of the busy downtown area.
Breakfast was very good with a selection of fresh fruit, baked goods and cooked to order items. A very friendly staff made this a great vacation for us.


I would say the only downside is the hike up to the 3rd floor with luggage and wi-fi only working for me on the ground floor.

I would definitely like to stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.