We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Save Saved
You added Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
12 Atlantic Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Matsuyama, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Because of its high ratings on Tripadvisor.com, we chose the Moseley Cottage Inn for a three-night stay at Bar Harbor. Fortunately, we reserved the "Bubbles Room" on the second floor of the main guest house. This room is huge, superbly furnished and decorated with many genuine antiques, has a wood burning fireplace (wood provided) and is very, very comfortable. I believe it's the largest room we've every stayed in during our travels, not to mention a furnished veranda! It was just a terrific room to come back to and "stretch out" after a day of sightseeing. The complementary breakfast was first-class, including a very knowledgeable and friendly waitress to take our orders. It's located in a nice, quiet residential area just off Main Street, so it's within easy walking distance of Bar Harbor's many excellent shops and restaurants. We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Moseley Cottage Inn, and it didn't break the bank, either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    568
    172
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
205
359
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I found this place through TripAdvisor where it came highly rated. The reviews were spot-on...this is a gem run with great care, attention and love by its owners who are long-time residents of Bar Harbor. Rooms are very nicely appointed with all modern amenities (flat screen TV, internet connectivity, radio, etc.) and with furniture that is comfortable and appropriate for the period of the house (early 1900's). The rooms are also quite quiet and private. Ours had a working wood fireplace which we used every night. For those of you who may shy away from B&Bs because of possible lack of privacy, that is not an issue here: couples looking for a romantic and private getaway, as we were, will be very happy at Moseley Cottage. Breakfast was terrific, with a variety of home baked goods prepared daily and choice of hot breakfast (eggs, waffles, etc.) included. Coffee and teas are available 24/7 near the front desk as are various cookies, etc. The property is ideally located on a quiet side street off the main street in Bar Harbor. Nothing in the town is further than a 10 minute walk away. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We did a September trip to New England to get out of the Texas heat and make ourselves sick on lobster. We flew into Boston and drove to Bar Harbor. I made reservations in advance for the Moseley Inn Cottage and Town Motel and booked a room in the main house. We stayed three nights, the first two in the Strath Eden Room and the last night in the Cadillac Room.

If you're looking for warm, kind innkeepers, knowledge about the area, and a place that is clean, charming, AND affordable, this is your place. Breakfast is fantastic, the location is perfect (just down the street from the center of town, but far enough that there's no hustle and bustle nor noise), and the service is unmatched.

Both rooms were quaint, comfortable and cozy decorated in soft colors.
The Strath Eden Room was large and romantic. One note: it is located on the third floor and there is no elevator. There was a flat screen TV if you are so inclined and a comfy king bed and tub & shower bathroom.
The Cadillac Room was smaller and also on the third floor, queen bed. That bathroom was large with a shower only and an antique commode.

The main Victorian style house has a wonderful wrap around porch where we ate breakfast each morning.

The breakfast was plentiful and very good. This is an excellent B&B for exploring the Acadia, surrounding areas and whale watching.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 4 nights towards the end of August in the Sargent Room in the main house. Having lots of space to move around and a sofa, table, desk and chairs in the bay window sitting area was very nice. The private porch with a view into the trees at the back of the house was very relaxing at the end of a day's sightseeing, although not private sound-wise as the next room's part of the long porch is the other side of a thin partition.

The bed and bathroom were very good and the in-window airconditioning worked fine when needed. We had no use for the log in the fireplace as we had such great weather! There was plenty of drawer and hanging space for clothes although it was a little awkward in the long, but narrow, walk-in closet. It only has hooks for the hangers to go on, presumably because of the need to access the small but very useful refrigerator right at the end.

The best part of staying at the Inn was the breakfast each morning. There was everything you could want to choose from - good coffee, 3 different home-baked goodies, homemade granola, yogurt and very nice freshly prepared fruit. Then there were the wonderful hot dishes! There was a basic choice of three plates but you could order them with changes to suit your preferences - that really meant you could have just absolutely whatever you wanted. Our hostess each morning, whose name escapes me at this point - I'm sorry!- was wonderful! She was very friendly, welcoming, helpful and efficient and made everyone feel totally at home! Not content with providing such a great breakfast, there were baked goodies and coffee available in the lobby all day. Loved sitting on the front porch for that second coffee after breakfast too!

The location couldn't be better as it is on a quiet road just off Main St - very close to all the shops and restaurants but it doesn't get the noise. The gardens at the front of both the Cottage and the motel part make a very nice oasis too.

Pam and Scott and all their staff were very friendly and helpful and the Inn is very well organised and well kept. Mosely Cottage Inn is a lovely old house with history and the motel part does not detract from it. If we get the chance to visit Bar Harbor again, we will definitely stay at the Inn again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were here one night before we checked into our rental home. Our room was very comfortable and large. We had a fire log in our fireplace that we lit that night. They had coffee and teas with muffins and scones for snacks. Breakfast was hearty and very good. B&B was on a nice quiet side street.

Room Tip: We were in the Bubble Room and it was huge for two people. It had a nice large deck that we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northport , new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I would definitely stay again on my next trip to Bar Harbor, room was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious with the smell of fresh baked goods when waking up. We highly recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in the motel part of the complex. Our room was large, airy and very clean - I believe that we had the largest of the motel rooms. We were provided with a fridge. The addition of a little crockery and cutlery would have enabled us to take more advantage of this, particularly as breakfast isn't included with the motel rooms. The owner offered us helpful information on check in, but we saw little more of the owners as the motel entrances are separate. The motel is in an excellent location in Hyannis, only a short walk from the facilities including many restaurants, but is tucked away down a little side street so is exceptionally quiet. Would recommend to anyone wishing to visit the Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel

Address: 12 Atlantic Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a quiet side street in downtown Bar Harbor, the Moseley Cottage Inn & Town Motel have welcomed visitors for many years. Built in 1884, this charming Victorian bed and breakfast inn offers a private haven off the beaten path. The Victorian Inn maintains a sense of history with original fireplaces, private balconies, gleaming hardwood floors. The Inn rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and updated fine linens, Turkish towels, Sterns and Foster Beds and WiFi throughout. A delicious full breakfast is included with the Inn. Motel guests are welcome for breakfast for an additional charge. WiFi, air conditioning, cable TV, mini frigs, hair dryers, self serve coffee/tea and afternoon cookies are some of the amenities to enjoy while your stay in the Inn and Motel. The In-Town Location and friendly local staff all make this a most memorable and wonderful experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Hotel Bar Harbor
Moseley Cottage And Town Hotel
Moseley Cottage Inn And Town Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.