We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine history revealed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Historical Society Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bar Harbor Historical Society Museum
33 Ledgelawn Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME
207 288 3807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 26 Attractions in Bar Harbor
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
247 attraction reviews
Reviews in 243 cities Reviews in 243 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Maine history revealed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We enjoyed our visit here while we visited the town of Bar harbor. It gives you a good overview of the history of this area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A look back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A lovely museum with plenty of artifacts, pictures and articles about the history of Bar Harbor. The docents are knowledgeable and are ready to answer any question! I think I liked the old Bar Harbor better - now it's super commercial.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quaint and very friendly Docent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went there on our last day in Bar Harbor. My hubby, the History Buff, wanted to find out more about the fires that had destroyed much of the island in 1947 and I'm always interested in local stuff. Beautiful handmade laces and dresses donated by local families. Also a room with lots of scrapbooks & albums to poke through. Very knowledgeable volunteer who was a delight! Great way to spend a rainy morning!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Real Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Only open 1pm to 4pm. It is free, but you can leave a donation. Volunteers work their. Everyone is very nice. No pictures allowed. I was very interested in the fires of 1947. They had great first hand accounts of this event. I could have stayed all day but they have very short window. If you love local history, you will love this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Breathtaking stained glass on the second floor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The stained glass is on the second floor in what was the chapel when the original use of the building was a St. Edwards Convent built for The Holy Redeemer Catholic Church.This museum is easy to walk to. Down the street from the park and the library. For detailed information see their web site :http://www.barharborhistorical.org

It is an easy walk and well worth the effort.

AND by the way: ADMISSION IS FREE!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Harbor Historical Society Museum also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Bar Harbor Historical Society Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Historical Society Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.