We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it every time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrace Grille

Terrace Grille
Bar Harbor Inn, Adjacent to Municipal Pier, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
2072883351
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $7 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the fresh air and relaxation of our outdoor cafe overlooking Frenchman Bay. The Terrace Grille serves Lunch and Dinner daily from 11:30am. Open to the public and no reservations necessary.
Zanesville, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love it every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It is always special to dine outside on a beautiful fall afternoon on the terrace at the Bar Harbor Inn. Our menu selections (seafood platter & broiled haddock) were delicious, but the lobster bisque and the blueberry pie w/ cinnamon-sugar on the crust are absolutely the best!! Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The views were spectacular -- schooners, cruise ships, small fishing boats & a glorious sunset -- and across the table my handsome husband of 45 years!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    48
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular view and delicious menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Prepare yourself with a full wallet, but the meals are so delicious that it will be the finest dinners you ever remember.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon Island
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great service, wonderful food, beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went for dinner the night before last. We were dressed very casually, probably overly so. We were seated at a table by the window, a great view of the water and the harbor.

I had the grilled haddock, just because I've never had it before. My wife had the filet and lobster. The food and the side dishes were just delicious. Not huge portions, just right for us. Mine was served with snap peas in their shells. Fabulous!

Service was attentive. We had after dinner drinks. They have a nice selection of single malts and a very generous pour.

Not cheap but the atmosphere, service and food was worth it. Our bill with wine, an entree and after dinner drinks with a very generous tip was $150.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A sunny day watching the boats in the harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a nice outside restaurant below the Reading Room Restaurant. When it rains, they will seat you in the Reading Room for lunch which is where I wanted to go. The Reading Room is only open for dinner. The view outside is beautiful. I had a chicken salad wrap, my husband the haddock fish sandwich. Both were good, nicely prepared with attentive service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We really enjoyed the lobster bake! The lobster was huge and tasty, and don't miss the lobster mashed potato option with the bake. Nice beer and bar selections, great service and really fun to sit on the terrace and watch the passersby on Bar Harbor's main street.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Grille also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Terrace Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrace Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.