We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pretentious but the food was good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Burning Tree

Burning Tree
69 Otter Creek Dr, Route 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04660
207 288 9331
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A bit pretentious but the food was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This restaurant takes restaurants and is more fancy than many in the area. We tried the following dishes: broiled mussels with harissa (good), scallop and shrimp fritters (okay), squash blossoms stuffed w goat cheese (good), prosciutto wrapped scallops w raviolis (quite good). Value-wise it is expensive. The wine list is quite expensive. The service is good but we were seated near the maitre 'd, who was dressed in a suit but spent much of time rubbing the back of one of the servers - not professional at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    27
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I love to sample various spots in our area and we had a fabulous dinner there last month. They excel at cooking fish here and it was cooked perfectly. Their pairing of food choices is most innovative too. We have reservations next week and can't wait to be there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our annual trip to "the tree" was outstanding as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is our favorite annual treat to go to The Burning Tree for dinner. We originally made a late reservation and was accommodated and they even called when they had a cancellation to get us in earlier! The wait staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the preparation of the food. We never felt rushed and was able to enjoy an evening out. The salads were amazing and flavorful and our dinner specials were outstanding; I wouldn't change a thing! Though you are well fed for dinner, you have to have their desserts as they are creative and wonderful! It's the go to place for a special evening out alone as a couple or with friends - worth every cent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'll be brief. You have to have dinner at Burning Tree, just make your reservations well in advance.

Ok, a bit more. The atmosphere is eclectic, professional, and relaxing; the staff is very professional and very friendly; and the food is gourmet. During our week on the island, it was our most overall enjoyable dinning experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were seated right outside the bathrooms and were "allowed" to move since we had made reservations weeks ago. The crab cakes were burnt on the bottom and the clam pasta which was requested to be without cheese was covered in Parmesan. The ultimate irritation was the bill not totaled correctly and being over charged $14. Not even an apology.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burning Tree also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Burning Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burning Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.