We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good had lunch two days in a row!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thirsty Whale Tavern

The Thirsty Whale Tavern
40 Cottage Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-9335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 122 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Miami
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So good had lunch two days in a row!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great place for lunch -- Had the clam chowder, burger served medium rare (like it shoulld be), terrific sweet potato fries, blackened haddock, regular haddock, and Greek salad (OK, that was between my wife and I for two meals -- ). Service was great, meals were spectacular, and I would eat there again to try something else on the menu. The place was clean and the menu was varied enough that you would be hard pressed to NOT find something you liked. Don't miss the haddock here -- it's great!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    284
    83
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best clam chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have tried several places to compare clam chowder. There is no place near The Thirsty Whale's clam chowder. It is consistent; always delicious! The blackened haddock sandwich is also amazing. Never had a bad meal and we have eaten there quite a few times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our first meal once we arrived in Bar Harbor. I had selected it after reviewing many options on this website! We were not disappointed. I had the lobster roll and my husband had a seafood platter. The lobster roll was delicious. The lobster was seasoned well and the roll was perfect, lightly toasted but still soft. However, I was actually jealous of my husband's dinner. He shared a clam and some scallops with me and they were delicious. The clams were full body clams and the scallops were the best I have tasted here. The atmosphere was very much like a pub is supposed to be, and everything we had was just right. We enjoyed this meal very much.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great pub atmosphere, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ate an early dinner here one evening after shopping in town. The atmosphere was very cozy and the food prices were much better than some of the other places in town. We each got the lobster roll and chowder combo, which was delicious and just the right amount of food. Service was prompt and our waitress was very friendly. We will definitely be visiting them again our next time in Bar Harbor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were in Bar Harbor because it was a stop during a Canada/New England cruise. We found this little gem of a pub quite by accident and LOVED it! The bearded bartender was delightful and got us addicted to rimming our pint glasses with pumpkin pie seasoning for our pumpkin ale. Then, I ordered a blueberry ale and he added sugar-marinated blueberries before he added the beer and it was like a heavenly party in my mouth!!! My hubby had the lobster roll and loved it...I had a burger, delish. Such a nice and cozy place to relax.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Whale Tavern also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Thirsty Whale Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thirsty Whale Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.