We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best fried clams...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thirsty Whale Tavern

The Thirsty Whale Tavern
40 Cottage Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
207-288-9335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 107 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“the best fried clams...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

so the bartender brought menus to us and she said..."do you like fried clams?" I said yes, and she said, "I'll be right back I am placing your order and they are the best!" WHAT CAN I SAY - BUT THEY WERE!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    336
    95
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
184 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Terrific bar for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

During the off season the Thirsty Whale is a bar for locals, and one of the few places that stays open during the winter. Their fresh haddock sandwiches are unbelievably delicious and their homemade clam chowder is perfect--it is flavorful, loaded with clams, not full of pasty flour or filler. This place is just great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Name, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our very first meal experience in Bar Harbor. I have to say, since I love animals, I was instantly attracted to their sign, The Thirsty Whale. But it was more than just that after we ate. The food was good, much better than "bar food" and there were many choices, even for someone who doesn't eat meat. The service was good, fast and helpful. We didn't have any beer, but it looked like there would have been plenty to choose from if we had wanted it.
And we did end up with a tee-shirt and mug! A fun, casual, not too expensive place to have lunch. I would go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

it is a nice place to come and have dinner or lunch. the food is verg good and the prices is also good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“christmas eve snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a quick snack here on Christmas eve.We ordered Clam chowder and fries.Unfortunately there was only one bowl of Clam chowder left so my wife opted for a haddock Chowder instead.It must have been a coincidence but there was only one bowl of this available as well.Ok so it was Christmas eve we had no problems with that.We were served by a very friendly waitress,who I later discovered was one of the family who run this establishment.The food was excellent and piping hot,as were the fries.We had plenty of fries in the one basket to do the two of us.Overall this is a good local pub and well run,with good value for money.The rest rooms were very basic and could do with an upgrade

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Whale Tavern also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Thirsty Whale Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thirsty Whale Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.