We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best fried clams...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thirsty Whale Tavern

The Thirsty Whale Tavern
40 Cottage Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-9335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“the best fried clams...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

so the bartender brought menus to us and she said..."do you like fried clams?" I said yes, and she said, "I'll be right back I am placing your order and they are the best!" WHAT CAN I SAY - BUT THEY WERE!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    264
    78
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, CT
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Terrific bar for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

During the off season the Thirsty Whale is a bar for locals, and one of the few places that stays open during the winter. Their fresh haddock sandwiches are unbelievably delicious and their homemade clam chowder is perfect--it is flavorful, loaded with clams, not full of pasty flour or filler. This place is just great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Name, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our very first meal experience in Bar Harbor. I have to say, since I love animals, I was instantly attracted to their sign, The Thirsty Whale. But it was more than just that after we ate. The food was good, much better than "bar food" and there were many choices, even for someone who doesn't eat meat. The service was good, fast and helpful. We didn't have any beer, but it looked like there would have been plenty to choose from if we had wanted it.
And we did end up with a tee-shirt and mug! A fun, casual, not too expensive place to have lunch. I would go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

it is a nice place to come and have dinner or lunch. the food is verg good and the prices is also good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“christmas eve snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a quick snack here on Christmas eve.We ordered Clam chowder and fries.Unfortunately there was only one bowl of Clam chowder left so my wife opted for a haddock Chowder instead.It must have been a coincidence but there was only one bowl of this available as well.Ok so it was Christmas eve we had no problems with that.We were served by a very friendly waitress,who I later discovered was one of the family who run this establishment.The food was excellent and piping hot,as were the fries.We had plenty of fries in the one basket to do the two of us.Overall this is a good local pub and well run,with good value for money.The rest rooms were very basic and could do with an upgrade

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Whale Tavern also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Thirsty Whale Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thirsty Whale Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.