We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a nice place...but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Manor to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Manor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
cuero, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This was a nice place...but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The check in went well , the gentleman at the desk was very cordial. The Inn was extremely clean and I will give their housekeeping a compliment on how well the bed was made. But lets consider the bed, it was well made but not comfortable, kind of firm and no pillow top and very high. The three days we were there we only had the two bars of soap that were there the first day...we got back late each night so I did not call and ask for another bar ( I had one from another hotel as I did shampoo which we ran our of ) Also there was no lotion at all. The ice bucket did not have a liner....teenage kids can tell you what ice buckets are used far sometimes.
I am of the opinion that it is more sanitary to have a liner.
The location is convenient to the center of town.
So to sum up..it was very clean but some small touches such as refreshing the soap, having lotion and a liner for the ice bucket would have made for a more pleasant stay. The bed could not be fixed as easily..It did seem like Bar Harbor has a very competitive market so I am sure cutting corners is a must. I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Try the older part of the hotel...the new part we stayed in had a balcony but the view was not great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarHarborManor, General Manager at Bar Harbor Manor, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
The Bar Harbor Manor would like to thank these guests for taking the time to review their stay with us. We are happy to hear they had a pleasant experience upon arrival and appreciated our housekeeping and fine location. It was also nice to read that they would stay with us again.
We understand that these folks would have preferred a softer bed. The bedding in this guest’s room was a new, medium firm mattress and box spring from a leading manufacturer. Like most hotels, the Bar Harbor Manor uses medium firm mattresses as they are comfortable for the vast majority of guests. Ours are from the manufacturers premium line and therefore are super plush and thick. We apologize if the bed was too high. With regard to replenishing soap and lotion, we have met with our housekeeping staff to ensure that rooms are properly restocked and we apologize for any inconvenience. We encourage guests to bring any deficiencies to our attention during their stay so that they may be addressed in order to make their visit more enjoyable. A quick call to the front desk would have remedied this oversight. With regard to the ice bucket liner we agree, it is more sanitary to have a liner and all of our ice buckets do have liners.
The Bar Harbor Manor does take exception to this guest’s comment that it seems due to a competitive market cutting corners is a must. Quite the opposite is true at the Bar Harbor Manor. We have owned and operated hotels in Bar Harbor for over twenty five years and find this comment unwarranted. The Bar Harbor Manor has a reputation for meticulously maintaining and improving a wonderful property in downtown Bar Harbor. Every year a great deal of time and money are spent performing scheduled and preventative maintenance. In addition, every year we undertake several projects to enhance our property. This year for example, a new fitness center is being completed and is scheduled to open this fall. This spring, a new bike storage garage was built for our guests’ convenience. Our gardens are always being augmented with rare and unusual plantings. Also this year we just completed acquiring historic photos of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park taken over a century ago. These photographs adorn the hallways of the new Hotel. These are not projects that had to be done, we take on these projects and labors of love to improve our property and enhance our guests’ experience.
We appreciate this guest’s input and hope they will visit with us again. The Bar Harbor Manor is very proud of our property. It is always our goal to provide quality accommodations, a wonderful location and gracious hospitality. We feel confident that future guests who choose to stay with us will be happy with their choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    83
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
43
195
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lone Star, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We reserved a room here for three nights in May 2014 based upon Tripadvisor's many positive reviews. Boy are they right! Our room was on the second floor of the new section. We were very impressed with the room size, cleanliness and the bed comfort. The host went out of her way to make our visit to Bar Harbor the best. She was 3 out of 3 in recommending excellent local restaurants and provided very valuable advice as to what to see and when to see it. Easy walking distance to all attractions in town. Very pleased.

Room Tip: I can only assume that all the rooms were as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here back in Oct 2013 for 4 nights. It is a great hotel. We stayed in 2 different rooms for 2 nights each because we booked on short notice, which was fine with us. We booked a 1 bedroom King Suite. The rooms were very spacious and clean, although, I liked our second room much better, felt more like home. They both had fridges, coffee makers and microwaves. The first room was a huge room with some seating off in the corner, where our second room had separate rooms. It had a little nook for the microwave, coffee maker, sink, fridge and had cabinets. It also had a seating room(living room)with a fireplace, 2 big chairs and tv. The bedroom was also a separate room with a tv. It also had a large bathroom.

We met the owner on our way out one day who was very nice, asked if everything was good and did we need anything.

I also loved the location of the hotel. It was a short walk uptown to many restaurants and shops. It is right around the corner from a supermarket which was good for stocking up on drinks and snacks and packing lunches. It's also a short drive to Acadia National Park, which is why we stayed Here in Maine.

I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in mid-July and we loved our second story room in the new addition. A king-size bed, microwave, fridge and large flat screen tv in a year-old room was perfect for us. Everything was squeaky clean and new, no "old motel" smell here that we experienced in some of the smaller towns along the coast where choices were limited. Walking to downtown and the green was earn easy stroll. Bike rentals, restaurants, shops, and a grocery store are just a few blocks away. We walked everywhere and took the LL Bean free Explorer buses into Acadia National Park. We loved our stay in Bar Harbor and I hope to return for a longer visit next time. The weather was perfect--cool and sunny. We are in our 60s and loved this place. We would highly recommend it. No breakfast is offered but the room price made it an excellent value. Free wifi, balcony off second and third floor rooms. Private patio off ground floor rooms.

Room Tip: We loved our balcony off our second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful hosts, rooms are large, clean and nicely furnished, nothing fancy. New building is pristine. Just a short walk to the center of Bar Harbor, away from the noise and bustle. Good value.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, nh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have been staying at the Bar Harbor Manor for a number of years and have always loved the friendly staff, the quality accommodations, and the quiet in-town location! This time we stayed in the new hotel building in a king bed room, and it's our favorite yet! The room was spacious and tastefully decorated...the mattress was extremely comfortable...and we loved the balcony outside the room! We would highly recommend the Manor and look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We love the rooms in the hotel building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTMINSTER
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and we would definitely return. It does not have a lot of bells and whistles but it is very clean and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the quiet, side street location within walking distance of the upper side of the town green, shops, restaurants, etc. The woman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. Just a nice, little place to rest one s head at the end of a long day!

Room Tip: There didn t appear to be a bad room to choose from but, only stayed in one and it was very nice. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#20 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Address: 47 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bar Harbor Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor, Maine is a destination that has endless opportunities for play, adventure, romance and family fun. Your vacation will be filled with excitement, so unwind and spend your nights in restful and luxurious accommodations with us at Bar Harbor Manor. Our historic homes and inn, together with the hotel, create a private village within the village of Bar Harbor. With rich, bold colors, Victorian elegance, Italian tile, and fine cherry furniture, our guest rooms are all distinguished in the Inn. Reminiscent of a fine boutique hotel, all rooms are provided with plush towels and exquisite personal care lotions and products. Indulge in a stay at the Inn to enjoy a sense of history without sacrificing any modern comforts. Two meticulously landscaped acres are a quiet base for your vacation explorations. This Bar Harbor inn and hotel is just a stroll from the bold Atlantic Ocean, Acadia, shops, museums, whale watching, park and boat tours, and an astounding range of casual or upscale dining. Our friendly and professional staff is dedicated to making your visit a happy one. The owners are local and have been innkeepers in Bar Harbor for 24 years. We are knowledgeable about all the essential things to do and places to go, as well as those off the beaten track, and are available to help you with vacation plans and making reservations, and to provide concierge service. With our affordable rates and luxury, it is no surprise that Bar Harbor Manor is a repeat choice for so many Bar Harbor visitors. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.