We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally Clean and spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Manor to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Manor
47 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Lone Star, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Clean and spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We reserved a room here for three nights in May 2014 based upon Tripadvisor's many positive reviews. Boy are they right! Our room was on the second floor of the new section. We were very impressed with the room size, cleanliness and the bed comfort. The host went out of her way to make our visit to Bar Harbor the best. She was 3 out of 3 in recommending excellent local restaurants and provided very valuable advice as to what to see and when to see it. Easy walking distance to all attractions in town. Very pleased.

Room Tip: I can only assume that all the rooms were as nice as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    73
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
167
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here back in Oct 2013 for 4 nights. It is a great hotel. We stayed in 2 different rooms for 2 nights each because we booked on short notice, which was fine with us. We booked a 1 bedroom King Suite. The rooms were very spacious and clean, although, I liked our second room much better, felt more like home. They both had fridges, coffee makers and microwaves. The first room was a huge room with some seating off in the corner, where our second room had separate rooms. It had a little nook for the microwave, coffee maker, sink, fridge and had cabinets. It also had a seating room(living room)with a fireplace, 2 big chairs and tv. The bedroom was also a separate room with a tv. It also had a large bathroom.

We met the owner on our way out one day who was very nice, asked if everything was good and did we need anything.

I also loved the location of the hotel. It was a short walk uptown to many restaurants and shops. It is right around the corner from a supermarket which was good for stocking up on drinks and snacks and packing lunches. It's also a short drive to Acadia National Park, which is why we stayed Here in Maine.

I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in mid-July and we loved our second story room in the new addition. A king-size bed, microwave, fridge and large flat screen tv in a year-old room was perfect for us. Everything was squeaky clean and new, no "old motel" smell here that we experienced in some of the smaller towns along the coast where choices were limited. Walking to downtown and the green was earn easy stroll. Bike rentals, restaurants, shops, and a grocery store are just a few blocks away. We walked everywhere and took the LL Bean free Explorer buses into Acadia National Park. We loved our stay in Bar Harbor and I hope to return for a longer visit next time. The weather was perfect--cool and sunny. We are in our 60s and loved this place. We would highly recommend it. No breakfast is offered but the room price made it an excellent value. Free wifi, balcony off second and third floor rooms. Private patio off ground floor rooms.

Room Tip: We loved our balcony off our second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful hosts, rooms are large, clean and nicely furnished, nothing fancy. New building is pristine. Just a short walk to the center of Bar Harbor, away from the noise and bustle. Good value.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, nh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have been staying at the Bar Harbor Manor for a number of years and have always loved the friendly staff, the quality accommodations, and the quiet in-town location! This time we stayed in the new hotel building in a king bed room, and it's our favorite yet! The room was spacious and tastefully decorated...the mattress was extremely comfortable...and we loved the balcony outside the room! We would highly recommend the Manor and look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We love the rooms in the hotel building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTMINSTER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and we would definitely return. It does not have a lot of bells and whistles but it is very clean and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the quiet, side street location within walking distance of the upper side of the town green, shops, restaurants, etc. The woman at the desk was very friendly and helpful. Just a nice, little place to rest one s head at the end of a long day!

Room Tip: There didn t appear to be a bad room to choose from but, only stayed in one and it was very nice. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I just returned from spending five nights at the Bar Harbor Manor and we loved the hotel room and meal package. We had visited Bar Harbor many years ago with our kids so this new hotel provided perfect accomdations with a spacious room, incredibly comfortable king size bed, mini fridge, microwave and large flat screen TV. The spacious bathroom had a hair dryer and coffee maker. Our third floor balcony gave us a quiet place to sip coffee and read a book. So relaxing and just a three-minute walk to the Village Square or a supermarket, bank, etc. Yet, as close as we were to everything, this hotel was so quiet. Its immaculate grounds are maintained with colorful flowers. Everything is handicapped accessible with ramps and elevators, grab bars in the bathroom. We're only in our 50's but enjoyed those conveniences. Free wi-fi in the room is a real plus.There's also a computer to use in the lobby. Although the hotel doesn't provide breakfast, there are plenty of great cafes within walking distance. Our meal package included four breakfasts at Jordan's Restaurant which serves delicious homemade blueberry muffins with its meals, and two Lobster Feasts at Poor Boy's...great meals! The people at the desk were very helpful and gave us good tips on restaurants and activities. For the most part, we walked to town and took the free shuttles throughout the island. We only used are car to go up to Cadilac Mountain or drive around the Loop Road of the Acada National Park. We will definitely return on our next visit. We love Bar Harbor and now we found the perfect quiet location. Many other hotels/condos that are on the waterfront hear all the noise from the restaurants and traffic. Bar Harbor Manor gives you comfortable, immaculate accomodations at a reasonable cost. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony give you an place to enjoy the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Address: 47 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best and most affordable accommodations in the heart of downtown. 25 well appointed rooms & suites nestled on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a short stroll to the waterfront, shopping, dining and activities. AAA Three Diamond. Balconies, whirlpools, fireplaces or kitchens available. Rooms/suites feature king or queen beds, free wireless internet, air conditioning, hair dryers, irons, free expanded cable, free local calls, free newspapers, free parking, refrigerators and coffee makers. Special packages available including lodging, meals and activities such as whale watching & tours of Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.