We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Great Location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Manor

Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Manor
47 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Great Location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

Sitting in the hotel room right now for a little R and R before going out to dinner. Perfect location....quiet, but a few minute walk from everything. Wonderful attention to detail here. Impeccably clean, but still homey and not at all sterile-feeling. Beautiful tile-work in the bathroom. Flat screen TV (no HD). The package we had included a lobster dinner at a local restaurant which we had last night and was also very impressive. Spacious and comfortable private deck...and we booked the most basic of rooms

No extras or the such, but friendly and efficient check-in. This is a great place if you like the comfort and size of an inn, but the privacy of a hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Comfort, Cleanliness, Value
  • Disliked — 3/4 Bath, Poor Location of TV in Relation to Bed/Chairs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    56
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
135
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
IN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

The Bar Harbor Manor is a great place to stay in Bar Harbor. The Inn's property is beautiful and very well maintained. Everything in Bar Harbor is within easy walking distance. If possible, upgrade to a suite, very nice large accomodations.

  • Liked — Large Suites
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river forest, il
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

This is a great spot for a family to stay at. There is a kitchen with seating for 4, and two separate bedrooms with queen beds. There is also a living room, so there is plenty of room to spread out. This spot is within walking distance of everything! The grocery is one block away and Acadia is just minutes by bus or car.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We were quite impressed with the Inn after we got there. We were not sure what to expect since we have never visited Bar Harbor but were extremely happy when we checked in. The Inn Keeper was most helpful with suggestions for places to eat as well as see. We had the Ocean adventure package which included a whale watch and lobster dinner, both were excellent. Our suite was spotless and very comfortable with TV's in both rooms. The Inn is within walking distance to the downtown shops and restaurants. Make sure you eat at Jordons for breakfast.

  • Liked — Centrally located
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

While I was in Germany and my wife was looking for a place to go for our anniversary she wanted to go to Bar Harbor. She did a search for Hotels in BH and found Bar Harbor Manor. Their website is very clean and easy to get around. She called the 800 number to book the room since I was away on Travel. They were very friendly on the phone and she explained what she wanted and they gave her a few options. She took them up on the Special Package deal Ocean Adventure Package. We went whale watching which was our first and was an awesome experience! One we will never forget.

The rooms were first class! My wife is an avid runner and there was a fridge in the room which was very impressive. We went to the local store there and stocked the fridge. The beds were very comfy as well as the room. The flat screen tv's on the wall are the first I have seen; I do travel about three weeks out of a month (first class) The rooms were VERY clean no issues what so ever! Wish I could of left more money for the cleaning crew but that is for next time.

The management was also first class. They welcomed us with open arms and asked if we made it there safely. That is always a good sign. They gave us the option to go Whale watching or lobstering and we chose the whale watching and the tickets were already ready for us. The dinner for the special package was great too. My wife is on a tight diet and she could not have lobster so they let her choose what she wanted which we thought was great. Oh yeah forgot to mention they did upgrade our room because it was our anniversary which was VERY nice of them to do and very thoughtful.

Thank you Bar Harbor Manor for the awesome experience at your Manor! When we go back to BH we will def be staying with ya'll and will let others know of a great place you have.

  • Liked — The owners were awesome and very accommodating
  • Disliked — wish we could of stayed longer at the Bar harbor Manor
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Ma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

The Bar Harbor Manor was immaculate. I could tell that the owners took great pride in keeping their establishment in top shape. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were very clean. I couldn't find anything that needed cleaning or fixing. The property is very well maintained. I also enjoyed the small private porch in which to relax after a long day. It was very quiet there as well as it was on a side street. I guess if I were to complain about something it would be the small size bathroom. It only had a small sink with no counterspace so we had to keep our bathroom supplies in our room area. It worked out okay though. It is a little walk into town where all the shops and harbor were. It was good exercise though.It was very crowded downtown so it was good not to have to drive in the traffic and try to find a place to park. I do, however, think that they should have a small bathroom to use for travelers just arriving to their property after a long ride. We were sent downtown which I thought was a little odd since we were staying at their property. All in all I would recommend this property to anyone coming to the area. Oh, the parade for the 4th of July runs right down their street which was a nice touch I didn't expect. :)

  • Liked — I I didn't have to use the car once during our stay and very clean rooms and well kept grounds.
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

My husband and I spent the Memorial Day weekend in Bar Harbor.It was our first visit and we really enjoyed our stay. The purpose of our visit was to see the Acadia National Park.
The hotel room was nice and clean, in a good condition and it had a small refrigerator . The hotel is located within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor, we walked to the waterfront and to restaurants. It's also close to the Hannaford supermarket which is a big plus. I am going to recommend this hotel to my brother who is planning to visit Bar Harbor this Fall.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bar Harbor Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Manor

Address: 47 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best and most affordable accommodations in the heart of downtown. 25 well appointed rooms & suites nestled on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a short stroll to the waterfront, shopping, dining and activities. AAA Three Diamond. Balconies, whirlpools, fireplaces or kitchens available. Rooms/suites feature king or queen beds, free wireless internet, air conditioning, hair dryers, irons, free expanded cable, free local calls, free newspapers, free parking, refrigerators and coffee makers. Special packages available including lodging, meals and activities such as whale watching & tours of Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Manor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.