We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place with wonderful gourmet breakfasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
715 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cosy place with wonderful gourmet breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Coach Stop Inn for 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. The rooms are cozily decorated with enough space to relax. Deborah's hospitality was great. She cooks up a fantastic gourmet breakfast every morning with high-quality and healthy ingredients. Leon the poodle is delightful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
148
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Coach Stop Inn is one of the best bed & breakfasts we've ever stayed at. The Innkeeper Deborah along with her poodle Leon are the most wonderful hosts. The rooms are comfortable and all have a flat screen television and refrigrator and there is a dining room and sitting room that offers movies and books to enjoy. The food will have you returning everytime you're in Maine. With breakfasts like bananas foster french toast, fresh fruit parfaits, vegetable frittatas, fresh baked muffins and then a snack during the day of homemade cookies, whoopie pies or rum cake and more you'll come just for the food. It's so peaceful there. Add that to feeling pampered by the food and beverages that are out for you all day as well as by Deborah and Leon and you'll never want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We prefered the Heritage room for our spring visit because it had a small porch outside. For a fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent two nights at the Coach Stop Inn B&B - gracious hospitality, wonderful breakfasts and a charming room. It was a real treat to come back at the end of the day and be greated by a freshly baked cake and Leon. We stayed in the well appointed Tavern room and loved it, especially the fireplace on a cool evening!

Thank-you Debra for a lovely stay,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The friendly host Deborah supplied us with all amities and the House Poodle Leon did the rest to make this night in bar harbor a pleasant stay.
The room was quite because it was on the back side of the Coach Stop Inn and not directly pointing to the near highway.
As it is 10 Minutes by car from the center of bar harbor people want to go to a restaurant will maybe not enjoy the location for us it was pretty good, because it is directly positioned at the highway back from arcadia national park to the mainland directly on our route.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here. Deborah was a very friendly host and the breakfasts were excellent. The inn was located outside of busy Bar Harbor, which was a plus as far as we were concerned, since the crowded town filled with tour-boat people is not our cup of tea. But this inn is convenient to Acadia NP, which was the point of our trip, and we're glad we picked this place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Coach Stop Inn. The main house is the original stop with all the charm. The upstairs suite was well done and comfortable. Deborah was a very friendly host and offered us advice and directions when we arrived. The breakfasts were three course delights, very well done. Just a few negatives were attached to our stay: It is quite close to the highway and the accompanying road noise is prevalent. We both wore ear plugs as a precaution which seemed to ease most of the sounds, but the large trucks do begin early. And interestingly enough, the bathroom holds a large free-standing tub that doubles as the shower. The step into, and again out of the tub area might be a bit steep for less agile visitors. We would visit the Inn again but would reserve a room behind the main house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Coach Stop for one night during our week trip to Maine and we had a great stay! Deborah greeted us upon arrival and gave us recommendations for dinner and places we should check out while we were in Bar Harbor. She was so kind and made an excellent breakfast as well! The rooms are on the small side and my husband was a little put off by no TV in the rooms but I thought it was great. I didn't realize how busy downtown Bar Harbor would be during the day and Deborah explained that they do fall foliage cruises during the fall and people flood the streets of downtown Bar Harbor. This made me even more glad to be staying outside of Bar Harbor. Great stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 715 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef Owned/Operated Coach Stop Inn bed & breakfast built c.1804 is Bar Harbor’s oldest inn, originally a stagecoach stop and tavern. Our convenient location makes it easy to get to all that Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park have to offer. You’ll be sure to remember Deborah's attention to detail and glorious breakfasts and snacks. Come see why "Down East" magazine says Coach Stop Inn is "Where to Stay in Bar Harbor". As seen on Emeril Live. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coach Stop Inn Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list