We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
715 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

It's difficult to overstate the loveliness of this place.

The building is beautiful and spotlessly clean. The food is wonderful, and Deborah, the hostess, is warm, welcoming and bubbling with enthusiasm. She is generously hospitable, baking a "treat" every afternoon and proving superb breakfasts. The service she provides is more akin to what you'd expect in a high-class hotel than in a B&B.

If we ever visit Bar Harbor again, we'd certainly stay at the Coach Stop Inn - can-t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
162
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sacramento, ca
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight on a Sunday along with two relatives who stayed in a different room. We arrived early and Deborah was very helpful. Although our rooms were not ready we took our luggage into the the living room for storage until the rooms were ready. Deborah offered us coffee, tea, soft drinks, water. We then discussed dinner for the evening. She called the restaurant of choice and made reservations with a window for us. She also mentioned that chocolate brownies would be available later.
The four of us then went to Acadia National Park for the afternoon and took the carriage ride to Jordan Park. Upon our return we found Deborah had taken our luggage to our rooms for us. We have the Tavern Suite which consists of a bedroom with a separate living room. It is a really nice layout for those who may want to go to bed early when the other wants to stay up and the opposite in the morning. The facilities reek of history but Deborah and her fiancee are upgrading (have upgraded) the facilities while maintaining the history and charm of an earlier era. The linens are deluxe and the towels plush compared to the thin towels found in other motels and hotels.
Breakfast is from 8 a.m. to 9 a.m.. Here is the menu we had, which is printed and on the tables: Orange or cranberry juice, banana-walnut bread, apple-pear-cranberry crisp and herbed ricotta scramble. We left nothing but a few tiny scraps....high quality with great taste. Menu changes.
Deborah is a charming and helpful hostess. She will help you with your plans in Bar Harbor and make your visit more memorable.
Deborah is trying to creat an excellence experience for a BB, with great cooking (she does the cooking). She also wants to have her pricing very competitive with the higher cost BBs in the town of BarHarbor. For the price it is an excellent value.
So, are there any negatives to consider? The only one is that that the BB is next to the main route to the town of Bar Harbor and there is some road noise, particularly if you are staying in the Tavern Suite. However, I would return even with this noise because of the overall experience at this historic stop.

Room Tip: Go with the Tavern Suite if you can reserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Coach Stop Inn at the end of May for Memorial Day Weekend. It was probably the best bed & breakfast I've ever stayed in. Deborah was so pleasant and helped us plan our trips. She left coffee, cookies, cake for us to munch on whenever we wanted, even when we returned late at night. The house poodle Leon is very friendly and helps create the warm atmosphere here. Our rooms were perfect and all the little details carefully thought out. We stayed in the Abbe's suit, which had 2 mini-rooms and a huge bathroom with classy bathtub. It was a very romantic weekend, with Acadia National Park just minutes away. We regret not having stayed another night and left too early. I'll definitely visit Coach Stop Inn when in Maine!

Room Tip: The Abbe room has a great bathtub and is not much more expensive than the other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

What a wonderful B&B. Careful thinking evident in everything they do - from how they've outfitted the bathrooms with comforts of home to the provision of things like honey for your tea. The layout of the rooms is thoughtful, warm and welcoming. We stayed in the Blue Hill Bay room and loved being in what felt like our own little cottage set back behind the main inn. All the materials they've chosen for the bed, towels, etc. are plush, high-quality and very comfortable. The look and feel of the whole place hangs together nicely and fits with what you might hope for when visiting the Bar Harbor area.

We were served a great breakfast that came in multiple courses. It was tasty and filling and creative - from the banana smoothie with mint to the marscapone french toast.

We followed Deborah's recommendations for hikes and enjoyed our time on both the Beech Mountain Trail and on Cadillac Mountain. Deborah also recommend we have dinner at the Chart Room restaurant, and it was excellent - especially their out-of-this-world lobster stew.

Coach Stop Inn is a great place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferriday, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

A friend of mine recommended The Coach Stop Inn. She had stayed there several times and since I didn't know anything about the area, I decided to make reservations for us and another couple. She went on and on about how she loved it. Well, she could have gone on some more! It was wonderful and the breakfasts were "too much"!! When we walked in the front door, Deborah welcomed us as friends since she is from Natchez, MS which is right across the river from where we live. She obviously was "raised right", being a southern girl and all.... Her hospitality couldn't have been beat. She was so very helpful in what to see and do and eat while we were there. We will definitely stay with Deborah and Leon (her cute little dog) when we return. MHR

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Friends and we spent two nights at the Coach Stop Inn and wished we could have stayed longer. Deborah was a lovely hostess, along with her cute dog Leon. By the time we left, we felt as if we'd known each other much longer (especially with her Natchez and Texas roots). Her recommendations for dining and hikes were very helpful. The breakfasts were perfect to start our day, and the cookies and whoopee pies were outstanding! The best whoopee pies we had on our trip. She had hot chocolate, hot tea, coffee available 24/7, an accommodating fire, which we enjoyed. The rooms were cheerful and great beds. I wish I were there now escaping our 90+ temps in Texas!! BKW

Room Tip: The blue and yellow rooms where we and our friends stayed were very nice. We didn't see any oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

On our last night in Bar Harbor before driving further north up the coast, my wife and I opted to stay at the Coach Stop Inn so we would be closer "out of town" when we started our next day's drive. The room was clean and well-appointed. We called very last-minute, and Deborah was very accomodating. It's a bit of a drive from downtown Bar Harbor, but she gave us a great dinner recommendation just down the road, where we sat and ate lobster and looked out onto the bay. We really enjoyed our stay here, and breakfast the next morning was quiet, quaint, and really enjoyable. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 715 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef Owned/Operated Coach Stop Inn bed & breakfast built c.1804 is Bar Harbor’s oldest inn, originally a stagecoach stop and tavern. Our convenient location makes it easy to get to all that Mt. Desert Island and Acadia National Park have to offer. You’ll be sure to remember Deborah's attention to detail and glorious breakfasts and snacks. Come see why "Down East" magazine says Coach Stop Inn is "Where to Stay in Bar Harbor". As seen on Emeril Live. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coach Stop Inn Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.