We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in town hotel. Best in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great in town hotel. Best in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

New hotel built with a turn of the 20th century theme. Great in town location. Only 5-10 minutes walking to ocean and shopping. Easy ride to Acadia National Park. Hotel was clean. Continental breakfast gave you enough options to eat for 3 days without repeating the same food. Incredible concierge directed us to best deals on lobster and tours.2 sides of hotel, only 1 has elevator excess, so be aware when booking a room if you have a lot of luggage or have trouble with stairs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    252
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
239
401
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We recently stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand and had a wonderful time!! The location allows an easy two block walk to the center of town, which has plenty of good restaurants (lobster everywhere!!) and a few bars. Please take note that Bar Harbor closes down early in the evening, and it was not easy to find a place that serves food after 9 p.m. However, bars are open until 1 a.m. We did not need car, which was a plus! We used the town's free shuttle bus service that takes you into Acadia national park (a really short ride) and just about anywhere you need to go. Our room was quiet, spacious, had air conditioning and a ceiling fan AND nice, new windows in case you like fresh air. Breakfast was basic, but they offered an extensive selection -- from yogurt to waffles everyday. Our room did not have a closet, which was odd, but plenty of drawer space. (They had a small hanging rack in the room - okay for just a few days.) The staff at the front desk was very helpful and nice. Two tips - if you want to buy blueberry jam, the "card" store across the street has jellies for half the price of the stores in town. ALSO, if you are planning to go into Acadia national park, I would recommend wearing hiking boots (even the "low" ones). Even the "easy" trails had lots of boulders to climb over and were very rocky. I tried hiking with regular sneakers & then bought a pair of boots in town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

This was our second visit to Bar Harbor, we enjoyed this hotel so much we returned! They are one of the closest hotels to Acadia National Park, are located right on the main shoppping street, close to restaurants and shops. Complimentary breakfast does not provide hot foods but there is fruit, yogurt, and cereals. We needed a room with Queen beds to fit our teenagers into without getting a second room, this fit the need!

The hotel has a hot tub and pool with heated water. The hot tub was very sandy, apparently somebody used it before us to clean all of their beach sand off. Free web access via two computers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Enjoyed the clean rooms, efficient house keeping, and helpful desk clerks. We would stay again and will highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Much like the other reviews stated - this is an excellent location. We do not enjoy the intamacy and lack of privacy a bed B&B typically offers. The Bar Harbor area seems to have an abundant supply of B&Bs, old fashioned motels, or upscale resorts with very little in the middle. We enjoyed this hotel because it gave us the privacy of a chain hotel while offering a very clean and quiet room.

The location was great. Being our first time to the area we found everything within town an easy walk. We only moved the car to visit Acadia. This was one of the best features. The hotel offered plenty of free parking on site.

Besides coffee and juice we didn't use the free continental breakfast. The coffee was excellent, we just prefer to get out and visit local joints.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I loved pretty much everything about this hotel (other than the continental breakfast, which was just average). It's quite new, but built to look sort of Victorian, but has all the amenities of a modern hotel, like nice plumbing and a spacious bathroom. Immaculately clean. The room was very attractive and comfortable (one quibble, I wish there had been a real closet rather than a rod out in the room to hang up clothes).
I don't normally have any interest in package deals, but this one seemed too good to resist: the package included dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn ( the fancier hotel down the street), a schooner cruise of the harbor, and $20 in the gift shop. By the time I figured out what all those things would have cost, my rate (pre-season, of course) worked out to about $90/night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We returned to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel for our third visit after several years away, and were happy to see that it was just as ideal as ever for our family vacation. We stayed in a large 2 room family suite ($198 spring rate/$240 summer); considering the continental breakfast, free internet, small but heated pool, and in town location at the quieter end of Main Street, I think there's no better place to stay in Bar Harbor. (True, there is no waterfront view, and it's not a "resort," but considering that Acadia National Park is one amazing vista, we didn't feel like we missed a thing).

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.