We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place , Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place , Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went as as a family of four to Bar Harbor the week of Aug 25 for 3 nights. After reading the reviews we picked the Grand Hotel because of all the positive reviews . We could have saved some money by being closer to Acadia Park but chose this hotel because it was right in the town . It was a great location where you can walk 4 blocks to all the places on the strip or to the docks . The rooms were really clean and the front desk was super. Breakfast was included but my kids really wanted bacon every day which they served but rotated with sausage every third day. The breakfast was good and the eating area very clean. . The only drawback was the internet would shut down but we saw a worker trying to fix it . The gym was very small but in Bar Harbor there is so much outside things to do that getting in a workout was easy .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for bringing your family to stay with us. Our location is truly convenient and with free parking, you really never have to move your car while in town and can take the free shuttle service to other parts. I certainly appreciate some like bacon everyday. There are reasonable breakfast restaurants nearby. Please bring your family back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    218
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
220
326
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located within walking distance to all restaurants and waterfront. The room was very clean and felt newer. We arrived in the afternoon and the room was hot, very hot, over 80 degrees. We turned the air on (why didn't the people who cleaned the room think of this?) but it didn't seem to help. We called the front desk, and they said it would take 30 minutes to get cool. We took a walk and came back, but still over 80 degrees. We called again and they sent up a maintenance person who was very pleasant. He immediately knew that the room below us must have their heat on(who knows why?). He went downstairs and changed their unit to air conditioning and our started to cool off. This was great until the next day when at 6:00am it was back to being 80 degrees. The maintenance person had explained it was a problem with the design of linking the heat pumps together, and we could call the front desk again. We just wanted to have breakfast and go about our day, (we only stayed for one night). We got our things and went to breakfast. Please don't count on this as a good breakfast, it is one step above a comfort inn type breakfast buffet - there were choices but none of them very good. On the way out, I decided to tell the front desk person about the heat, as some poor soul would be checking in to a very hot room later in the day... this person wasn't very interested and did not apologize for this inconvenience. I said I was concerned about the next person, and he said well if you give me your bill, I'll take something off.. he took off about $20 for this - it is too bad as it is a pretty hotel and the rooms are newer and feel very clean. I just couldn't stay there again knowing we had no control over the temperature of the room. It would be great if the person at the front desk would seem to care about the guest's comfort, and it would also be great if they would acknowledge the known issue and tell the guest the truth instead of sending them on a wild goose chase for 30 minutes just to find out the room temperature hasn't changed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am truly sorry for your bad experience. I have a wonderful staff and we always strive to take care of our guests. It is extremely rare we have this issue and in most cases we do, it is easily fixed. I not sure what happened. Although most enjoy our breakfast, again sorry it didn't meet your standards. We would gladly offer suggestions for breakfast if you should should try us again. Please give us another opportunity.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very nice hotel - and wonderful location. Pricier than we generally go, but I waited too long to book, so the more mid-priced options were gone. But we splurged, and loved it. BTW, make sure your visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia includes tidepooling, at a spot like Wonderland (near Bass Harbor Head lighthouse)!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words. You will have to come back when you have more time as there is so much to do on the Island and in Acadia National Park. We actually have 22 summits on the Island and over 100 miles of hiking trails. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best thing about this property is its convenient location at the edge of town, within easy walking distance of restaurants. The room was clean and fairly well appointed. The free breakfast, while providing variety, was not very good; most of it was pre-prepared food, much like one would get at a Hampton Inn. Two issues: there is only one elevator for the four-story property, and the waits could be long. And there were no drapes in our top-floor room, just blinds. At dawn, the room filled with light.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of your room. Unfortunately, due to the design of the hotel, there is no way to put an elevator in the north wing. We truly hope you will consider returning and we would be happy to recommend a breakfast restaurant. We actually have a discount to a great breakfast restaurant in the lobby. Hope to see you in the future.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We planned this trip in advance not knowing the lay of the land in Bar Harbor. This location was perfectly situated at the end of the strip. End to end is about a 10-15 minute walk making everything accessible. The hotel has a heated pool and was located in their parking lot. Not the most picturesque but clearly not what your going to Bar Harbor for. The kids (and adults) enjoyed this amenity at the end of each day to cool off. The hotel staff are really friendly and willing to help. We had a small issue with the room, which was handled timely (for a NYer that's relatively quick). Typical room keys were an issue but no different than any other hotel. Complimentary breakfast was great to get us going on our days activities and free wifi was great way to keep in touch, although spotty and not the best it eventually did the job. Rooms itself were spacious and fit an extra cot perfectly without killing all the floor space. If I could offer any suggestion to the hotel it would be to improve the toiletries in the room (TP and soap). Other than that, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: With only 4 floors we stayed on 3 and it was great. There are no major views to speak of it's ei...
See more room tips
Green Features: Conscientious. We only were able to see the recycling part and many of the materials that they use were environmentally friendly. Climate controls and lightning were on par.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Our location is a key feature without question. Especially depending on the time of year you are coming as parking downtown is usually quite full during high season. As you mentioned, you can walk to everything, never have to move your car (parking is free). We are happy you would consider returning and we hope you do.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there for my neice's wedding. The staff was most helpful. Room was cleaned early and staff did a good job. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bar Harbor. We walked to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are pleased you stayed with us for your niece's wedding. It also pleases me to hear my staff is doing their jobs well. I am proud of all my workers. I truly hope if you find yourself returning to Bar Harbor, you will consider staying with us again. We will strive to continue to give the service that all guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked from Tripadvisor recommendations and found the hotel in an excellent location, good value, ok breakfast and very good desk staff. Bar Harbor is very touristy and this hotel is located on the edge of that area, a good things.

Room Tip: Get on the back side away from the street and the ice maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so happy that you found us to be a pleasant surprise. Our location and free parking is definitely found to be a great benefit to all. I am always praising my front desk staff and housekeeping. They take good care of our guests and the rooms. Please come back for another pleasant surprise.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;