We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Acadia explorers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
GreenLeadersBronze level
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
“Great location for Acadia explorers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Right in town, close to everything in Bar Harbor, and plenty of privacy, cleanliness, friendly staff. Pool is located in the lot, and that made it better, because it did not get crowded, which gave us plenty of privacy and opportunities to have fun with the kids, without worrying about disturbing others. The room was wonderful, comfortable and very clean. Location just minutes from Acadia Park, a must see place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for bringing your family to our hotel. Our families always enjoy the pool area and plenty of room for the parents to sit and watch the children if they wish not to swim or get in the hot tub. Thank you for commenting on our location, cleanliness of the rooms and my friendly staff. I hope this will encourage you to return with your family.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    250
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
237
392
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The Bar Harbor Grande is the best! We love the ease of being right smack in the middle of everything. The rooms are large and the staff is wonderful. From making dinner reservations for us to the free breakfast, this is always our first choice for our annual vacation to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
This is what helps us to know we are taking care of our guests. Seven years, that is wonderful. We know you kind people mention us to others. We hope you'll work on your next seven years. I promise we will always do our best to take care of you.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned this hotel is comparable to a mid level Hampton Inn, except the breakfasts at Hampton Inn and most other similar hotels are much better than than the breakfast at the Bar Harbor Grand. The breakfast at the Grand is not so Grand. The fruit salad is canned and rather disgusting. If you like cold cereal and milk and factory made eggs the breakfast will be acceptable. if you like choice (i.e. decent yogurts, fresh fruit salad, make your own waffles etc), you will be disappointed. There are plenty of good breakfast places in Bar Harbor so not such a big deal. The rooms are spacious, plain and very clean. The bathrooms are very clean and feel very average. There is nothing really objectionable about this place but nothing grand or special either. We did like the location: very close to the action of town but in a little quieter section of Main st. You can walk everywhere and it's a close drive to Acadia. We would stay here again because of the convenience, comfort and cleanliness.

Room Tip: I would not want to stay on the first floor. Too many people walking close by the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
It appears you enjoyed you room. Good to hear. We don't have an issue with recommending other breakfast spots. We are pleased you appreciated the location. You comment on the clean, spacious rooms is also appreciated. We are also pleased you would come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, NH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel and would recommend this hotel. Great location to town, friendly staff who gave great recommendations to restaurants and other locations in town. Rooms were clean and a good size. Breakfast was included with the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your weekend stay with us. I feel it important that we are friendly to all our guests and my staff excels in carrying this out. Our rooms are larger than the many hotels. Happy you enjoyed that. We hope we will see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We recently stayed three nights at the the hotel. I had checked the prices of many other hotels as well and the Bar Harbor Grand was reasonable considering all other hotels. My kids enjoyed the pool although the whirlpool tub was too hot for me. The hotel stay included a free continental breakfast which was well stocked. The location of the hotel is perfect as its near the end of the busy section of town. I am a light sleeper and had no trouble with outside noise in going to sleep. The room was wider than the usual hotel room and fit a rollaway mattress with no issues. The room was well cleaned by the staff nightly and the overall service was very good.

I recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We have so many wonderful families that stay with us and enjoyable to know they are finding things at the hotel to enjoy. The vast majority do indeed our hot breakfast and appreciate your mentioning this. The location is always appreciated and the comfort of the room is so important. I always take the opportunity to praise my staff as they are wonderful. Please bring your staff back for another stay.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

First, the 'good' aspects of this establishment. Great location, as it is mere blocks away from the downtown section, yet far enough to be in a quiet location. Rooms are nicely appointed and clean, apparently due to a recent renovation.

That said, ironic you are in such a quiet location, and yet the walls are so thin that you can hear the elevator clanging and slamming shut, despite your room being 5 doors down. You will become very very familiar with your 'neighbors' bathing habits quickly, as every flush, shower drain, elephant stomp is front and center for your listening enjoyment.

Your rate comes with a complimentary 'continental breakfast'. Well, they call it a 'deluxe' continental breakfast, since you have the opportunity for eggs, bacon, etc., despite their lack of a facilities to cook it properly. Everything is microwaved. I mean...EVERYTHING. Microwave bacon, anyone??

Finally, the internet is the poorest excuse of Wi-Fi this side of dial up. Go to the lobby, and yet you still get the same dismal results. Went to the business center to print the boarding passes, and it clocked in at about 22 minutes.

Avoid. There are better places out there.

Room Tip: Just avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
As frequently mentioned, we are pleased you found a benefit in our location and appreciated the cleanliness of our breakfast. We try very hard to stay on top of the wifi issues on a regular basis. If you return, we can certainly make recommendations for breakfast at restaurants that may suit you needs. Thanks for staying with us.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We recently stayed here and were very impressed for the price. It was not a planned stay, we just happened upon the vacancy sign and the price was right, just over $200. The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating with extra towels and a cot for our family of 5. The kids loved the heated pool, hot tub and the breakfast. Location is perfect, walking distance to everything we needed. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us. We are so happy you found us. We are very much family friendly and love to children on the property. It's encouraging to see them enjoying their breakfast in the morning. Good way to start the day. We strive to take care of all guests needs to the best of our ability. Please bring your lovely family back and I assure you we will once again take good care of you on your visit.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.