We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at Bar Harbor Grand last week for five nights when we vacationed at Bar Harbor. As the other reviews described, the hotel is located at an excellent location, it's on the main street and takes at most 10 minutes to walk to the harbor, plenty of shops and restaurants all within short walking distance. We actually like its location better than those hotels just next to the harbor because it's less crowded with tourists however all conveniences are still within easy reach.
When we stayed there we went out with the Acadia Mountain Guides one day for rock climbing, the hotel is right across street from the shop where we need to pick up our guide. This is super convenient as parking in Bar Harbor can be very challenging and many impose a two hour limit. The hotel is only one block from village green where you can hop on the island explorer buses if you don't feel like driving.
The staff at the hotel are very courteous and helpful. The morning buffet is just typical continental breakfast, nothing fancy but is nice that you don't need to go out to eat. The breakfast room has enough seats and I never had trouble to find a place to sit down in different hours, unlike some other hotels.
Another plus is that their washer/dryer are normal household size, unlike those compact size in many hotels. So one round is enough to get your clothes dried.
Overall we are very satisfied with our stay and Bar Harbor Grand will certainly be our top choice if we go back to Arcadia again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for mentioning some of the activities available and the hotels convenient local from the free shuttles. On rainy days, the laundry gets a lot of use, happy you enjoyed that as well. Please come back and we will work our hardest to remain you number one choice.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    289
    50
    8
    4
See reviews for
284
451
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here with our 11 and 14 year old daughters. This is a very nice hotel. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very pleasant. The breakfast was really nice- it had an ample selection of food and plenty of seating. What we didn't realize when we booked this hotel was that it has a great location. It is in walking distance of the shops, restaurants and waterfront of Bar Harbor, and the buses that take you to Acadia. The hotel has a nice parking, once we parked we didn't have to drive anywhere. Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It's always good to receive comments as yours from frequent travelers. Thank you for that. Cleanliness should always be the goal for hotels and strive vigorously to maintain that goal. I am privileged to have a wonderful staff. Since breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day, we try very hard to meet the needs of our guests. Thank you for mentioning the convenience of our location and please bring your family back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very nice hotel. Nice location and very clean. Wait staff was courteous. Breakfast was basic but good and they didn't run out of anything. Would stay again. I don't know what else I can say to get to 200 characters but you should stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
A brief comment as yours is most appreciated. I will also be brief and close by saying we hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I were very well cared for during our two night stay. The location was not with a view of the ocean but it was only a two minute walk to shopping eating and that great ocean park. The staff was always courteous and helpful with all our "tourist" questions. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We always strive to meet our guests needs and very happy we accomplished this for you. The location is awesome, especially in the summer when it is very difficult to find a parking spot downtown. You can walk to everything as mentioned. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very good alternative to Bar Harbor Inn. Well located in town. Close to restaurants. 5 minutes from Acadia NP. We walked everywhere. Staff is very helpful. Great breakfast. Rooms are well appointed. Very clean. We'll come back.

Room Tip: Avoid the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for the comparison and the comment on our location. The breakfast is yummy and we hope you truly will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel the third week in July which is busy in Bar Harbor. We arrived mid day to find our room already prepared for us. Parking is a major issue in Bar Harbor during the summer and it was nice to have this included in our room. The hotel is clean, staff are friendly and outgoing. The free breakfast is adequate but limited to the normal heat and serve stuff but that is not why we booked into this hotel so it is not a deal breaker. It was a good, clean,affordable, friendly place to stay and solved the problem with more than we expected. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were just off the lobby and had no problems with noise except for the kids next door and that was...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel had the normal practice of reserving linen. Only spent one night so I do not know if they ignored their own policy.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It amazes me that hotels charge their guest to park. I have a wonderful staff and they maintain our property very well. We hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just spent 7 days at this hotel for our July vacation . The service is wonderful, rooms are clean and large. Staff couldn't be nicer and the location is perfect to escape the crowds. Pool is heated and they just installed a new hottub. Family friendly. We have been staying here since it opened and wouldn't go anywhere else. Can't wait to book next years trip!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
You are a very important guest for us. When people return frequently to stay with us and only us it confirms we are caring for our guests. Thank you for your kind words and we do truly love families. Please keep bringing yours back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#12 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#16 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.