We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
GreenLeadersBronze level
Farmingdale, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“One of the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been coming here since it opened in 2003. We have never been disappointed. Rooms are lovely, staff is great and you can always get coffee anytime you want. You can sit outside on the porch and just relax, or swim in the pool. We always come with friends and they are very accommodating with adjoining rooms of requested. Best is it is at the end of the main road, so once we park our car on arrival, we walk everywhere or take the free shuttled offered into the park. I can't think of any other place to stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed on all sides of the building - all equally lovely.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice that they moved the smoking section away from the front entrance.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We thank you so much Susan for your comment on our property,location and staff. We value highly our loyal guest like you and look very much toward your continued loyalty.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    184
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
169
294
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife in August and we were both very pleased. This was our third trip to Bar Harbor and we opted to "splurge" and stay in a hotel which was more expensive than what we had chosen in the past. For the approximately $40 more per night we paid, it was worth every penny and beyond! The room and bathroom were both very clean and spacious. The location is also great because you are in the downtown area, yet away from most of the noise and hustle bustle. Parking did seen a bit challenging at times, but we were never without a spot. While still being a little pricey, we would still recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are so happy you found us and hope you will continue to return. We appreciate your comments on the room and the location.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon hills
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand for a longer period than we usually go on vacation so we splurged on the bigger room so everyone would be comfortable (our 2 daughters are teenagers and appreciate space too:-) but were worried that there was only a one bowl sink in the bathroom. We didn't need to worry since there was plenty of counter space and hooks so everyone was comfortable after all. The bedrooms were clean and spacious and the laundry facilities were clean as well. We would have liked a few more low carb options at breakfast (cheese perhaps or some vegetables such as cherry tomatoes or anything green?) but overall, everyone found something to eat. The staff was very helpful and friendly and added much to the enjoyment of our stay. We hope to come back:-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for your kind words Vernon Hills. The family rooms are very popular. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back also.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Grand while we were sightseeing in Bar Harbor for a few days. It was great. It was close enough to everything but also just far enough that we could have a great night sleep... With open windows! The staff were very helpful with directions and the beds were VERY comfy. I didn't expect beds that cozy from a non-national chain. They were a great comfort to our hiked out family :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for you kind words Kristen G. We happy you enjoy your room and hiking in the park. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand for 2 nights while visiting Acadia. The room was clean and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the laundry facility which allowed us to catch up on wash after a week on the road. There was a nice selection of breakfast items- included in the price of the room. Staff were courteous and helpful. The location was perfect for walking to the downtown restaurants and shops ....and the hotel was just a few minute drive to Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We thank our friends from Chicago for their kind words. I am proud of my staff and always happy to hear they are taking good care of our guest. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed extra nights we enjoyed it so much. The rooms are very nice. The staff is wonderful. The location is perfect in that you can get in and out to travel acadia or points beyond without dealing with traffic. Restaurants abound. Don't miss Poor Boys across the street. And there is a Gulf station just a couple doors down the street with a a small diner. This one is easy to miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I want to thank you for your kind comment on my staff. We work hard at pleasing our guests. We look very much forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wonderful hotel with very friendly & helpful staff. Room was spacious & clean with plenty of furniture & mini-fridge; the place still has a new feel to it (in a good way). Great location with easy 7 minute walk to main spots in Bar Harbor but away from noise & crowds. Swimming pool & hot tub are small, but are set at the right temperatures; they feel great after hiking around Acadia. Hotel breakfast is sufficient with good quality fruit (more hot foods would be nice). Reasonable lobster restaurant located next door. I would highly recommend Bar Harbor Grand Hotel.

Green Features: Concerned with environment and sufficient recycling cans around property and plenty notices of conserving water & using towels efficiently.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks to our friends from Potomac. The amenities in the rooms please most guests and appreciate your comments on them. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.