We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay in great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand for 2 nights while visiting Acadia. The room was clean and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the laundry facility which allowed us to catch up on wash after a week on the road. There was a nice selection of breakfast items- included in the price of the room. Staff were courteous and helpful. The location was perfect for walking to the downtown restaurants and shops ....and the hotel was just a few minute drive to Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We thank our friends from Chicago for their kind words. I am proud of my staff and always happy to hear they are taking good care of our guest. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    219
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
221
328
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed extra nights we enjoyed it so much. The rooms are very nice. The staff is wonderful. The location is perfect in that you can get in and out to travel acadia or points beyond without dealing with traffic. Restaurants abound. Don't miss Poor Boys across the street. And there is a Gulf station just a couple doors down the street with a a small diner. This one is easy to miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I want to thank you for your kind comment on my staff. We work hard at pleasing our guests. We look very much forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wonderful hotel with very friendly & helpful staff. Room was spacious & clean with plenty of furniture & mini-fridge; the place still has a new feel to it (in a good way). Great location with easy 7 minute walk to main spots in Bar Harbor but away from noise & crowds. Swimming pool & hot tub are small, but are set at the right temperatures; they feel great after hiking around Acadia. Hotel breakfast is sufficient with good quality fruit (more hot foods would be nice). Reasonable lobster restaurant located next door. I would highly recommend Bar Harbor Grand Hotel.

Green Features: Concerned with environment and sufficient recycling cans around property and plenty notices of conserving water & using towels efficiently.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks to our friends from Potomac. The amenities in the rooms please most guests and appreciate your comments on them. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked last minute after searching for hotels on-line and reading reviews. BHGH wasn't first on our list, but was the first with a room available. It's on the end of the tourist strip, farthest away from the water, but definitely not a long walk, and being at the end is sure to get you walking past all the shops that Bar Harbor has to offer. When I booked I needed a room for five, and I was shocked that when we opened the door the rollaway was in-place and fully made! Plenty of room for two queen beds and the rollaway even with a family member in a wheelchair. The room was very clean, and neat, aside from some ill-repaired sheet rock above the shower surround. My family of 5 would be comfortable there for quite a few days. I do agree with other reviews, the breakfast was adequate, but not great. The only hot offering was oatmeal, though there was a toaster for bagels, English muffins, bread, pre-made waffles and pre-made French toast. There was also hard boiled eggs which could be microwaved. We did not go to the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments Severna Park. We're happy you enjoyed the cleanliness and spaciousness of our rooms. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is a great option for a hotel in Bar Harbor. It is relatively new, and is beautifully designed. The hotel is conveniently located on a quiet section of Main Street within short walking distance of everything. Rooms are comfortable and roomy (except for minuscule closet). Free continental breakfast is a real perq. Free wi-fi is also nice (but was slow and unreliable during our recent stay).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Location is so important in Bar Harbor. Thanks so much for staying with us and commenting of the comfort of our rooms. No one should go away hungry from our continental breakfast. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I normally prefer not to write negative reviews, but feel the need to in this case since this hotel is extremely overpriced for what it offers, and unfortunately not "grand" in any way! While the staff (reception desk people, breakfast lady, housemaid) were all very nice and courteous, and the outside of the hotel is fairly pretty, inside it looks like a normal ugly chain hotel -- but one with excessive prices, where you leave with a nasty feeling of having been taken advantage of. In a place - Mount Desert Island - where protection of the environment and recycling should be a TOP priority for hotels and guests alike, our (not very good) breakfast was served on/in non-recyclable styrofoam plates and cups, with a laughably misleading and self-promoting notice/ad written by the manufacturer of the products (!!!) hung on the wall that "explained" in a laughable manner why using these products was "better" than using real dishes or paper products. The made-in-China bathroom products, trademarked "My Earth", bear a similarly deceptive blurb: "Product and packaging entirely biodegradable", when it is very clear that the plastic packaging is NOT at all biodegradable. I would never stay here at this hotel again. Potential guests should go elsewhere in Bar Harbor, and the hotel itself - if it wants to be a truly "grand" hotel - should think about using real dishes and cutlery and providing locally- (or at least nationally-) produced and truly biodegradable bathroom (and breakfast-food) products to promote real stewardship of the environment and the local economy. Again, I'm sorry to be so negative, but perhaps the hotel will think about making some important changes! In the meantime, my thanks again to the kind staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, NH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This lovely hotel was new and clean and in a great location, within easy walking distance of all the downtown shops and restaurants. The hotel was nicely decorated and the pool was very nice. Breakfast could have been a little better (my kids prefer waffle machines and batter to eggos that you put in the toaster type-of complaints) Rooms were pretty and quiet. Would definitely stay again when visiting Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments about our property and do hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.