We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel option in Bar Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clinton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel option in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is a great option for a hotel in Bar Harbor. It is relatively new, and is beautifully designed. The hotel is conveniently located on a quiet section of Main Street within short walking distance of everything. Rooms are comfortable and roomy (except for minuscule closet). Free continental breakfast is a real perq. Free wi-fi is also nice (but was slow and unreliable during our recent stay).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Location is so important in Bar Harbor. Thanks so much for staying with us and commenting of the comfort of our rooms. No one should go away hungry from our continental breakfast. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    161
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
148
245
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I normally prefer not to write negative reviews, but feel the need to in this case since this hotel is extremely overpriced for what it offers, and unfortunately not "grand" in any way! While the staff (reception desk people, breakfast lady, housemaid) were all very nice and courteous, and the outside of the hotel is fairly pretty, inside it looks like a normal ugly chain hotel -- but one with excessive prices, where you leave with a nasty feeling of having been taken advantage of. In a place - Mount Desert Island - where protection of the environment and recycling should be a TOP priority for hotels and guests alike, our (not very good) breakfast was served on/in non-recyclable styrofoam plates and cups, with a laughably misleading and self-promoting notice/ad written by the manufacturer of the products (!!!) hung on the wall that "explained" in a laughable manner why using these products was "better" than using real dishes or paper products. The made-in-China bathroom products, trademarked "My Earth", bear a similarly deceptive blurb: "Product and packaging entirely biodegradable", when it is very clear that the plastic packaging is NOT at all biodegradable. I would never stay here at this hotel again. Potential guests should go elsewhere in Bar Harbor, and the hotel itself - if it wants to be a truly "grand" hotel - should think about using real dishes and cutlery and providing locally- (or at least nationally-) produced and truly biodegradable bathroom (and breakfast-food) products to promote real stewardship of the environment and the local economy. Again, I'm sorry to be so negative, but perhaps the hotel will think about making some important changes! In the meantime, my thanks again to the kind staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, NH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This lovely hotel was new and clean and in a great location, within easy walking distance of all the downtown shops and restaurants. The hotel was nicely decorated and the pool was very nice. Breakfast could have been a little better (my kids prefer waffle machines and batter to eggos that you put in the toaster type-of complaints) Rooms were pretty and quiet. Would definitely stay again when visiting Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments about our property and do hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I were traveling back from northern New Brunswick to Massachusetts with two nieces and thought we would break up the trip with a detour and overnight stay in Bar Harbor. We had never been there but took a chance with this hotel, and were very glad we did. The staff was great, continental breakfast was very good, and with the in-room DVD player we rented a DVD for the kids for $1. Everything was easy walking distance with plenty of great places to eat just 5-10 minutes away. The only negative is that we were expecting to use the outdoor pool and hot tub after having dinner down the street and then doing a little shopping, but it closes at 8:00. A little disappointing. I didn't notice if maybe there were no lights out there and that's why it closed so early. But if it stayed open until later, that would have changed the rating to Excellent. We hope to be back and spend more time and we would definitely look to stay here again. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
To my friends from Billerica, thank you for coming and please bring your nieces back again. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you comments on the property.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel was in a great location within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Very clean rooms, a cheerful and helpful staff and a great continental breakfast. We travel quite a bit and this was one of our more favorable experiences. Go to Bar Harbor and stay at the Grand....you will be happy you did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you to our guest from Virginia. Location is so important and cleanliness is very important. We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast. Please come see us again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Right on Main St. in the heart of Bar Harbor. Shops, water, Nat'l Park, Restaurants. Free off-street parking, Free continental breakfast that is all away stocked. Will definitely stay again!!!! Thanks. Jeff & Sue

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello Jeff and Sue. Thanks for visiting us and please come back. Very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located close to the main part of town - perhaps a 5 minute walk to the harbor area. Room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was included consisting od cereal, fruit, toast your own bagels and French toast, etc. service was good. $235 per night.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Comfort is truly important when staying at a hotel. Look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine
Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.