We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand last weekend. Had a great experience. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The wait staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The hotel is conveniently located. I have read some of the other reviews and floored by the ridiculous negatives that people found,.... some people just cannot be pleased. Perhaps therapy would have improved their stay? I would highly recommend this place for a reasonably priced, comfortably, clean hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We thank the guest for their kind comments on our property and staff. We recognize that others have different opinions on matters that may be negative. We will continue to work to gain guests approval to the best of our ability always. It brings us joy to receive the positive thoughts as this guest offered and we hope to see them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    198
    37
    4
    5
See reviews for
195
313
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bronx
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here the first week of April. The Night clerk was super friendly and welcomed us in as it was late and we had been on the road from Princeton for several hours. The room was huge and appointed with what looked like new furniture. There was even a ceiling fan in the room besides the central air conditioning. The bathroom was new and spotless you could tell that housekeeping was really doing a bang up job. The bed was super comfortable with soft pillows. In the morning there was a continental breakfast included which was stocked well and clean. The coffee was delicious. The morning clerk was pleasant as I had inquired about the area attractions. The unbelievable part was there was a delivery of brand new beds and Box springs for every room. The team worked like clockwork removing the old with the new. This hotel is really managed well when you put that kind of money into an already good thing. So if you want to try a brand new Newenglander bed go stay at the Grand!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I want to thank our guest for his kind words about our property and staff. We take pride in our property and know that comfort is one of the most important things while staying at a hotel which would promote a good nights sleep. We have found the Englander mattresses excellent in getting the job done. We truly hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just stayed at the Grand and overall pretty good - modern, clean, large rooms with good fixtures and fittings. Good location for Bar Harbor and the general area, staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative aspect was the breakfast which was as advertised I admit - continental - but as nothing was open nearby it would be nice to have perhaps one or two hot items to go with the cold food. Might stay here again, not sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand269, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I want to thank our guest for the kind comments about our property. We strive to add to our guests stay by expressions that bring them joy and a desire to return. I'm sorry that our guest missed the items that are hot items. Our boiled eggs may be sliced and heated in the microwave and the waffles and french toast are heated in the toaster. I am in the process of getting a crock pot that we can cook and serve oatmeal in. At present, we do have instant oatmeal by Quaker. We appreciate so much our guests comments and is always our hope that they will return again.

Sincerely,
Dennis W. Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Grand for two days in October while traveling the coast of Maine for our honeymoon. The hotel was clean, reasonably comfortable, and conveniently located in town. However, I found the rooms dated and every staff member that we encountered had an air of general indifference. This was an odd place that reminded me of a bygone day where a fine hotel put a bell at the front desk, provided a clean room, and stuck a laminated area guide on the night stand. (Seriously - those days are gone - hospitality is a competitive business.) Good basic lodging. Don't expect too much.

Room Tip: The wifi didn't work in our room. We did some trouble shooting and it only works on one side of...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisWClark, Manager at Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I want to thank our guest from Texas for their kind remarks regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. I truly hope they enjoyed their stay in Bar Harbor on their special day. I work with my staff constantly and strive to set an example in taking care of our customer's needs in a hospitable manner. We are continuously upgrading our property for the appeal of many. We appreciate this may not work for all. We have in place a plan for opening day this season to modify our wifi to be more effective. I truly hope our guest will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here mid July 2012 for 3 nights. The room was very nice and the front desk clerks were very friendly and offered suggestions for things to do, etc. Breakfast with just so-so, normal continental fare. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate all day/evening. We didn't use the pool or hot tub but they looked nice. We never had to get in the car to go anywhere in town, everthing was within walking distance. It was about 1 mile walk from hotel to the waterfront...lots of shops back and forth so it didn't feel like a mile.

Looking forward to our next trip and we will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndeborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked last minute off season for a business trip that took me to Bar Harbor. I had an excellent experience from the staff at the Bar Harbor Grand. All the staff went out of their way to make my stay an excellent experience and the room was the cleanest Hotel room I have ever stayed in. I highly recommend that if you're going to Bar Harbor that you visit the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor and the views were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice upscale hotel right in the center of Bar Harbor. Walking distance to the wharf and main street restaurants with ample free onsite parking. They have great package deals which made my stay very reasonable. The rooms are also good size and very clean. The only draw backs were a grumpy general manager, and a very basic low end continental breakfast. Aside from this the rest of the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.