We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very nice upscale hotel right in the center of Bar Harbor. Walking distance to the wharf and main street restaurants with ample free onsite parking. They have great package deals which made my stay very reasonable. The rooms are also good size and very clean. The only draw backs were a grumpy general manager, and a very basic low end continental breakfast. Aside from this the rest of the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    265
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
251
422
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent four nights here in November and had a wonderful time. The entire staff was pleasant and engaging. The location of the hotel made it very convenient for a leisurely stroll into town for dinner.

The rooms were large and comfortable. There were plenty of electrical outlets for charging computers and cellular phones. The in room safe was huge and would accommodate the largest laptops; several actually. The rooms were very clean.

The hotel was very quiet, although it was the off season. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it was very nice. It compared with a chain hotel breakfast spread with an assortment of fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, waffles, etc. I enjoyed the fact that I could make healthy choices and save my calories for dinner.

I would have no qualms about returning to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on an upper floor on the side; I think there would be less parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a good, clean hotel with comfortable rooms. The staff was very helpful with suggestions on local places to eat. Rating would have been higher, but the breakfast selection here was limited and not as good as we have had at other hotels on the coast of Maine. The hotel is well located, allowing us to park the car and walk wherever we wanted to go in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerzers, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for tow nights at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel. The hotel was located in downtown, several restaurants were in walking distanc. The room was realy big, very clean an also very quiet. If we would come back to Bar Harbor we would stay at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Bar Harbor Grand. Our room was well appointed, super clean and very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was generous and presented very well.

We walked downtown, great little wine shop across the street, just all around great experience.

We will definitely stay again when possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was very nicely located, within easy walking distance of all the downtown. Our room, the family room, was twice as large as a regular room and very comfy for our family of four without having to pay for two rooms or for a suite. The hotel was clean and the service staff was polite and courteous while doing a good job of keeping the room clean.

Room Tip: Didn't use the restaurant or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel has several packages available which are well worth the money. We were in this wonderful town for three nights. Our package included a dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn which was a perfect night: pianist playing Gershwin, gourmet food, great views, and exceptional service. Also, we had a narranted van tour of Acadia Park which was nice for my husband who did not have to drive. Our driver/narrator was very knowledgeable on the park, flora/fauna and history. This was our second visit to the area....if we go again, we will stay again at the Grand!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.