We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Bar Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a good, clean hotel with comfortable rooms. The staff was very helpful with suggestions on local places to eat. Rating would have been higher, but the breakfast selection here was limited and not as good as we have had at other hotels on the coast of Maine. The hotel is well located, allowing us to park the car and walk wherever we wanted to go in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    252
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
239
401
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kerzers, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for tow nights at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel. The hotel was located in downtown, several restaurants were in walking distanc. The room was realy big, very clean an also very quiet. If we would come back to Bar Harbor we would stay at the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Bar Harbor Grand. Our room was well appointed, super clean and very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was generous and presented very well.

We walked downtown, great little wine shop across the street, just all around great experience.

We will definitely stay again when possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was very nicely located, within easy walking distance of all the downtown. Our room, the family room, was twice as large as a regular room and very comfy for our family of four without having to pay for two rooms or for a suite. The hotel was clean and the service staff was polite and courteous while doing a good job of keeping the room clean.

Room Tip: Didn't use the restaurant or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel has several packages available which are well worth the money. We were in this wonderful town for three nights. Our package included a dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn which was a perfect night: pianist playing Gershwin, gourmet food, great views, and exceptional service. Also, we had a narranted van tour of Acadia Park which was nice for my husband who did not have to drive. Our driver/narrator was very knowledgeable on the park, flora/fauna and history. This was our second visit to the area....if we go again, we will stay again at the Grand!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand while vacationing and the experience was very good, truly North Maine hospitality without the big brand names. Location is very convenient, quiet but close to everything. Rooms are big. Plenty of parking, excellent service and attention. Best value in town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel very pretty and architecture fit the towns history. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The packages for rooms, dinner, and tour were a great value. Look forward to coming back again. Will definitely stay at the Bar harbor Grand Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.