We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clarkesville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was very nicely located, within easy walking distance of all the downtown. Our room, the family room, was twice as large as a regular room and very comfy for our family of four without having to pay for two rooms or for a suite. The hotel was clean and the service staff was polite and courteous while doing a good job of keeping the room clean.

Room Tip: Didn't use the restaurant or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    235
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
228
367
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel has several packages available which are well worth the money. We were in this wonderful town for three nights. Our package included a dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn which was a perfect night: pianist playing Gershwin, gourmet food, great views, and exceptional service. Also, we had a narranted van tour of Acadia Park which was nice for my husband who did not have to drive. Our driver/narrator was very knowledgeable on the park, flora/fauna and history. This was our second visit to the area....if we go again, we will stay again at the Grand!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Grand while vacationing and the experience was very good, truly North Maine hospitality without the big brand names. Location is very convenient, quiet but close to everything. Rooms are big. Plenty of parking, excellent service and attention. Best value in town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel very pretty and architecture fit the towns history. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The packages for rooms, dinner, and tour were a great value. Look forward to coming back again. Will definitely stay at the Bar harbor Grand Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wakefield, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We decided to take our ten month old twins and go on our first family vacation to Bar Harbor and stay at this hotel. We couldn't have chose a better place! The hotel is very clean, and saying the staff is kind would not even justify how nice they all are. Everyone always smiled and was helpful. The staff is aware of many local activities and restaurants and were very willing to share their information with us and give recommendations. Also, the continental breakfast is great! Only a short walk to town (about 2 minutes), which was wonderful because parking in town is horrendous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Grand for six nights Oct. 1 - 7, 2012 and loved it. The entire hotel staff is very friendly, the rooms are spacious, the hotel is spotlessly clean, and a delicious breakfast is included. There are also laundry and exercise rooms which we used. We paid extra for special deals which included dinner and a boat tour. These were so worth the money. Be sure to take them up on special offers.

The hotel is perfectly situated. It is within a couple of short blocks of the village green where you can catch the buses running throughout Acadia, restaurants and shops are everywhere, the waterfront is only a couple of more blocks, and we easily walked to the sand bar at low tide and the ocean-front walkway.

Bar Harbor traffic is difficult, and daily there are cruise ships depositing thousands of tourists that are walking around or taking buses to offboat excursions. The great thing is that the Grand is accessible by back roads that by-pass the village green area, allowing you to get in and out easily.

We highly recommend the Grand. We hope to return during the summer and will definitely stay here again if there is availability.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the side parking lot. It was quiet, and we kept our windows open all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Went here on my honeymoon and we LOVE this place! The rooms are clean, the staff is more than accommodating, the location is ideal, right on Main St. The dinner for 2 at the Reading Room package was exceptional as well as the Acadia Guided Tour. We highly recommend this place. We definitely will come back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Grand Hotel

Address: 269 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its great downtown Bar Harbor location, the Bar Harbor Grand Hotel is one of the area’s newest hotels, providing all of the modern conveniences with yesterday's charm. Based on the historic Rodick House, the elegant 1800's Bar Harbor landmark, the Grand is the perfect choice for all visitors to nearby Acadia National Park, and the Mount Desert Island region – whether it be for a romantic getaway, family vacation, or business. The Bar Harbor Grand Hotel invites you to be their guest on "the most beautiful island in America". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bar Harbor Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.