We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort
Save
You added Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort to your Saves list
1219 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Well situated on Mt Desert Island. Our site was clean and relatively level. The view from site 37 is wonderful. Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbors talking until 2 am and unfortunately the management did do anything to enforce their own rules. The rest rooms could have been in better shape. Wifi availability throughout the campround rather than a hotspot would be a welcomed improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I just got home from a five-night stay at Mt Desert Narrows. I had a tent site, T22, and my brother and his family had a waterfront hookup site. The views from my site were fantastic; from my brother's (I forget which number) were great but there were a bunch of trees blocking the view a bit. When I first got there, there was a site near mine with a large, barking dog, and no people. The dog barked for a really long time and since dogs were not supposed to be left unattended and this dog clearly had been for a very long time, I called the office. Maintenance staff was down at the site within 5 minutes of my call, and they ended up calling the dog owners to come attend to him. I was very impressed with their response. For the person who commented that they couldn't reach anyone after the office closed, there were signs in the bathrooms with the onsite people's camp site numbers listed in case they needed to be reached...

Everything seemed very clean, though they need some lighting outside the bathrooms, and it would be nice if there were lights at the pool so that it could be open longer.

I found it to be pretty quiet after quiet hours began, except for the slamming portapotty doors (don’t people realize how loud those are, and how easy it is to actually close them instead of letting them slam?). Quiet hours start at 10, and most people really seemed to quiet down at that time.

Island Explorer (free shuttle) picks up and drops off right at campground entrance, picks up every half hour, and was very convenient so that we could avoid the hassle of parking in Bar Harbor during busy times when it's hard to find parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I am giving the campround an average rating. It was ok for what we needed, a base camp to enjoy the beautiful state of maine. With that said, we have 3 kids and they found the campground completely boring.The pool was extremely cloudy( we have a pool at home and it didnt look good to me so the kids didnt go in it) , the "playground" was outdated, but there was a BB net so that was good. And it is on the water BUT you really cant access it to enjoy.The views were pretty though. The store staff /checkin are very nice and cheerful. BUT>There was a problem about 930 pm one night where some teenagers broke a bath house window, and there was a huge sharp pain of glass sticking out of an outside sink that was NOT lit up very well, No staff could be found. I was afraid someone was going to reach in and get cut bad, so i called encore hoping they would have an emergency # , they said We are in Fl, we dont know how to reach them either. KINDA crazy huh? Cant reach anyone at 930 pm? What if you had a major prob with something???Anyway, Not our worst campground BUT def not our best either. Average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in Site 139. Full sun still the mid afternoon. Site was big most others were too. Playgrounds could use some updating. Low water pressure. Pool was like bath water. No one came around to tell us the fire has to be out. Which was nice. Campground noise level was quiet for the amount of people that were there. Dogs welcome but most be cleaned up after and on leashes. We had sight of the bay until another camper pulled in front of us.They recycle but not paper. Dumpsters were emptied twice during our 6 day stay. Bathrooms were clean. Never look in the showers so can't comment on them. They at least 2 shower/bath houses with a place to wash dishes outside if you need to use it. They do have honey pot service for $25 need to tell the office by 10am if you want to be on the water. They also have 2 dump station. A little pricey- if you stay for 7 days the 7th day is free. There is also free shuttle service all around the park run by the island that runs every 1/2 hour.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Without knowing very much about the area, I chose this campground. I wish I had known much more about what my actual waterfront choices on Mt Desert Island were. We stayed in slot 87, the 2nd highest price point.
PROS:
Clean campground. Pool if we had wanted it. Plenty of showers close to us. Tree'd wide spot, and very long. Shuttle bus stop, close to Acadia NP entrance.
CONS:
I wanted a waterfront spot so when on the phone with ENCORE reservations, he noted two different price points. He did not know the difference between the two, but, on the map, both were on the water so he suggested the cheaper one. We get here and we are indeed on the water, but our view was blocked by bushes or shrubs about six feet tall. We had to be way back on our site to see the water. To add insult to injury, our fire ring was right up against the shrubs so when we decided to build a fire, we couldn't sit all around the ring and were starring at bushes. We tried to move the ring but it was secured to the ground. I asked to get it moved and the bushes trimmed, but no response.
This is what happens when reservation centers are not on site, and are not involved personally with the campsite.
After driving around, I would have stayed on one of the sounds on the west side, or at a place that was owned and run by locals.

Room Tip: Pay extra for great views along the water-sites 88 and higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have been camping at Mount Desert Narrows for 10 years now. Since the campground has been bought by new owners and reservations made through Encore, the place has gone downhill. Office staff was ver friendly. We have always liked the location and the size of the sites, but campground is no longer maintained well. Our site had not been mowed for a couple weeks. The office and store was supposed to be open from 8 am to 8 pm. We stopped by at 7:10 one evening and found that it was locked. One of the workers came out and said that they now close at 7:00, but hadn't changed the sign yet. At noontime, that same day, there were three women working in the office. You would think that they could schedule their workers better, so that it was staffed for the full day. There were many empty camp sites. This would be understandable for September or October, but this was mid-July. There used to be nightly hayrides and activities (ice cream socials, entertainment), but the onlyactivity during the week we were there was "Elvis." We hope that the owners put more into this campground and bring it back to the way it was, because we have always enjoyed staying here in the past.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in one of the campground rental trailers. It was clean and had plenty of room for the four of us. Shower was very small but that goes along with staying in a camper. the kids loved the pool. Some of the reviews mentioned that the grounds were dirty. We saw none of that. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Some have mentioned how cramped the sites were. compared to some of the others we saw these sites had plenty of room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort

Address: 1219 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 206
Also Known As:
Mount Desert Narrows Camping Hotel Bar Harbor
Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Desert Narrows Camping Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.