We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travels With My Sister” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hearthside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hearthside B&B
Save
You added Hearthside B&B to your Saves list
7 High Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
sd ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Travels With My Sister”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My sister (a travel agent) and I stayed two nights in the Glass Menagerie room. The window seat with beveled glass windows, with a door leading out to a small patio, was an especially personal and poignant touch to the loveliness of the room. I woke to a burst of sun streaming through autumnal leaves and that glass. Stunning memory. Comfy robes were provided for the short walk to the private hallway bath. The "fun size" toiletries provided were nice but still didn't top the cuteness of a black washcloth embroidered with the word "Makeup" on it! As many other guests have commented, the lack of television and the single dining table with plenty of seating and delicious food were just the touch these two sisters were looking for to recreate growing up in lovely homes like this. Susan and Barry ensured there was parking available, loaned us an interesting CD for tour Acadia and gave us recommendations to two of the best "where the locals go" places in town and printed a guest roster -- four couples were repeat customers. "Town" was within an easy and very pleasant walk ... even in the rain!

Room Tip: The fact that the bath--paired strictly to our room alone--was down the hall didn't matter one i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
179
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here during the marathon weekend, so we could experience the town and still be close to Acadia Park. We spent the days in the park, and came back to the B&B in the evenings. We were able to walk to dinner both nights, and found fantastic restaurants within a few blocks. We stayed in the Churchill room with the fireplace and used it both nights-it made for a very cozy stay! The owners are very welcoming and made you feel right at home.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location in a quiet street but within a few minutes walk of the harbour, restaurants and shops. The inn also has ample parking, something which is at a premium in Bar Harbour. We stayed 4 nights in the Canterbury Court room, this was large and comfortable.
Breakfasts were excellent, with different courses each morning. We had our own dietary requirements, and also observed how effortlessly they catered for everyones needs. Breakfast was held at a communal table and it was noted how many of the guests were repeat visitors.
The inn keepers gave great advice on restaurants and things to do in Bar Harbour including spending time discussing the hiking available in Acadia National Park.
We would definitely recommend this inn to anyone staying in Bar Harbour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in the romeo & juliet room, i believe its the biggest room in the house. it was very nice and comfortable, very big with a huge bed and 2 comfy chairs, table etc. the ensuite bathroom had a seperate jacuzzi bath & shower. i liked the way they left out bath scents for the tub, along with standard toiletries. i also thought that the free samples on the dresser from local stores was a lovely touch (choc coated blueberries and mini oil & vinegar set). we slept very well, only needed the car for our trip to Acadia (you can walk easily round town from the B&B), breakfast was nice & plentiful, afternoon tea was left our if you were around the B&B at 4-5pm (or so). susan also lent us a walking book for Acadia, which was useful. we decided to do the beehive, a pretty scary but fun climb / scramble aided by metal rungs at the really steep bits. we would definitly recommend Hearthside B&B.

Room Tip: for space and a soak in a jacuzzi bath, choose romeo & juliet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A perfect place to stay in Bar Harbor. Just park your car and leave it. You can walk to everything from here, including to the free buses into Acadia National Park and other areas around the city. A wonderful home full of interesting things. We took the room upstairs with a private bath down the hall a bit. It worked out great for us.

We appreciated the breakfasts cooked to order and shared with other guests around the dining room table. Also the afternoon baked snacks and pink lemonade.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Book early. They fill quickly in season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venezia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good hotel very close to the city center of Bar Harbor. The owners were very kind and nice, every morning we prepared some great homemade breakfasts ... french toast, cakes, muffins, etc.. The Room in Victorian style was nice and clean, the bathroom was small but comfortable and clean. We have breakfast with the other guests, sitted togheter at the same table, allowing us to talk with the other, very nice! We have a good time there. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everyone has a bad day once in a while and perhaps we hit Hearthside B&B on one of theirs. We have stayed here five times over the past 12 years and in the past have enjoyed the comfort of the inn. This time was different and it is hard to say why. I do know that the breakfast was a major disappointment. One of the reasons that travelers like ourselves pay a little extra and put up with tiny bathrooms is the promise of an above average breakfast. The breakfast served on the morning of our stay was bacon and eggs. I am sorry, but that just didn't meet our expectations. But as i said, everyone has a bad day once in a while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hearthside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthside B&B

Address: 7 High Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nine room B&B built in 1907, located on a quiet side street in town Bar Harbor. All rooms have a private bath and a/c some with whirlpool tub, fireplace or porch. We include a fantastic full breakfast and home made afternoon treats. We can help you to enjoy your visit to beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hearthside B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearthside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.