We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acadian Boat Tours

Acadian Boat Tours
119 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME
207-801-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 60 Activities in Bar Harbor
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very enjoyable and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Really nice trip. Staff all very friendly and very knowledgable about the area. They offered a shorter trip than most if the other companies which fitted in with my day more. Nice to see the park from another perspective

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The right tour at good value price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

With all the many boat tors available in the area, my mother and I were worried we would pick the wrong one, but this is definitely the right one. We went out on a two hour tour with a focus on local nature, history and sites. The boat was in good condition, comfortable, with very friendly, helpful staff, a little snack bar, and a really great, funny, informative tour guide. The tour we took left from Bar Harbor and went all around the immediate area, around islands, up to Acadia National Park, out to the lighthouse on Egg Rock. On the way we saw a fair number of animals, including a porpoise, a bald eagle, a seals, cormorants, and ospreys. One of my favorite parts of the tour was the tour guide giving a detailed background on lobsters in the lobster industry, including first-hand experience. I definitely recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is the boat cruise to take”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

On a beautiful 75 degree day we took the 3 hr. tour around desert island aboard the Islander. It is located about a mile away from the craziness of downtown Bar Harbor with free no-hassle parking right next to the Oceanside Hotel. A wonderful cruise, on a smaller boat than the large ones down in Bar Harbor. We were told about the mansions as we passed them, the history of the area, the geology and personal history from our guide that grew up in the area. We got a close up of 2 lighthouses and saw seals, porpoise, eagle, and many sea birds. This tour is well worth it!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“In spite of yucky weather, great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was a dreary day, but we still managed to see great up close seascapes, a lighthouse, seals, bald eagles and tons of water birds. We had a blast. The crew was great and the narrator (Chuck) was very informative and entertaining. Highly recommend this tour. It is well priced for the experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super tour on a drizzly weather day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We hopped on board the Acadian boat tour on a drizzly day. The weather did not hamper the views of wild life nor the abundance of information we gathered about the Eco system in the Bar Harbor area. The guide was extremely knowledgable and shared some great stories about wild life in the area and the way of life in the area. We spotted seals, eagles and other birds, a lobster fisherman, a light house - a great way to see a lot off the shore. Highly recommend if you yearn to learn more and see a lot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acadian Boat Tours also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Acadian Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadian Boat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.